Random Question Thread (FFXI Related)

Language: JP EN DE FR
New Items
2019-11-15
users online
Forum » FFXI » General » Random Question thread (FFXI related)
Random Question thread (FFXI related)
First Page 2 3 ... 366 367 368 ... 621 622 623
 
Offline
Posts:
By 2015-04-29 20:24:19
 Undelete | Edit  | Link | Quote | Reply
 
Post deleted by User.
[+]
 
Offline
Posts:
By 2015-04-29 21:08:05
 Undelete | Edit  | Link | Quote | Reply
 
Post deleted by User.
 
Offline
Posts:
By 2015-04-29 21:28:51
 Undelete | Edit  | Link | Quote | Reply
 
Post deleted by User.
[+]
 Asura.Kaitaru
Offline
Server: Asura
Game: FFXI
user: Kaitaru89
Posts: 607
By Asura.Kaitaru 2015-04-30 05:16:23
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Sylph.Jeanpaul said: »
Asura.Kaitaru said: »
Asura.Vinedrius said: »
This is how I do ARII speed run on blu/run:

1F 1-2 Vulture > 1-2 Merrow Kabukidancer > Skip rest
2F 1-2 Leech > Merrow Chantress > Skip rest
3F 1 Flytrap to unlock dex/agi/mnd > 1 Merrow Chantress if missed related unlocks on 2F > Skip rest
4F Skip floor
5F Try to avoid all single gears > 1 single gear to unlock body > Get all ramparts to pop > Train them and subduction all
6F Ignisx2, barparalyze, barblizzard > Armored Chariot > Khim > Skip rest

side note: I don't bother with casting anything other than erratic and regen until 6F.

If you are doing on MNK, I would highly recommend you to make sure to bring remedies (for chariot and khims) and an install shell scroll for khims to save time (and for safety). While it is true that stat vomit lets you dodge most attacks, paralyze can still be a huge annoyance when it happens to go through.
Planning on doing this as PUP so I think I should be fine with the shell and support, still may have to bring remedies but I will be subbing /DNC most likely so I can healing waltz most stuff off. Thanks for your very in depth breakdown, saves me the time to make a route and kill list.
If you go on PUP, on floor 1 you should go straight for the Leeches to unlock Ranged/Ammo so you can use your Automaton. I personally kill Vultures/Leeches/Kabukidancer/Shadowdancer since you have fewer enemies on the 2nd floor.
Good point, I'll need to work that in.
 
Offline
Posts:
By 2015-04-30 09:17:30
 Undelete | Edit  | Link | Quote | Reply
 
Post deleted by User.
 Leviathan.Comeatmebro
Online
Server: Leviathan
Game: FFXI
user: Rairin
Posts: 6052
By Leviathan.Comeatmebro 2015-04-30 09:26:11
Link | Quote | Reply
 
The people getting banned are using speedhacks, position hacks, or afk bots. You don't have to worry about the legitimate plugins, and gearswap is much better.
 Asura.Kaitaru
Offline
Server: Asura
Game: FFXI
user: Kaitaru89
Posts: 607
By Asura.Kaitaru 2015-04-30 14:50:47
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Leviathan.Comeatmebro said: »
The people getting banned are using speedhacks, position hacks, or afk bots. You don't have to worry about the legitimate plugins, and gearswap is much better.
With all the set augmentations and the possibility of multiple similar new skirmish sets has gearswap fell more to the wayside? I assume Precasts and Relic/AF/Empy armor for using abilities has its uses but using the new Armor set swap they added a few patches ago makes using specific aug skirmish gear easier.

I've been constantly contemplating on using gearswap, I'm assuming it functions much like spellcast in the way it auto changes gear for when you use a specific spell/ability e.t.c. Whats kept me away is my lack of understanding the writing of scripts. I suppose if someone had a setup for PUP I'd like to at least try it. Since I don't play mages I also have been putting it off, but with the no animation changes for manuevers I think I may have to use gearswap to get a precast effect so I can still decrease Puppet burden and reduce overload when summoning. In the end I have very little understanding of the addon and wouldn't know where to start XD.
 Asura.Suteru
Offline
Server: Asura
Game: FFXI
user: Suteru
Posts: 306
By Asura.Suteru 2015-04-30 14:57:29
Link | Quote | Reply
 
You can program GearSwap to differentiate between differently augmented verisons of the same item.
 Asura.Kaitaru
Offline
Server: Asura
Game: FFXI
user: Kaitaru89
Posts: 607
By Asura.Kaitaru 2015-04-30 15:01:44
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Asura.Suteru said: »
You can program GearSwap to differentiate between differently augmented verisons of the same item.
Holy crapola, now I need to figure this out >3>.
 Odin.Jassik
VIP
Offline
Server: Odin
Game: FFXI
user: Jassik
Posts: 9534
By Odin.Jassik 2015-04-30 15:04:25
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Asura.Suteru said: »
You can program GearSwap to differentiate between differently augmented verisons of the same item.

For what it's worth, you can do this with vanilla as well. Place the items in different inventories and use the corresponding inventory ID.
 Fenrir.Nightfyre
Offline
Server: Fenrir
Game: FFXI
user: Nightfyre
Posts: 11680
By Fenrir.Nightfyre 2015-04-30 16:01:27
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Asura.Kaitaru said: »
Whats kept me away is my lack of understanding the writing of scripts.
What I did when I first started writing macro scripts was read through the tutorials and documentation on the Windower website as a primer. I then printed out a couple of well-written scripts I acquired from friends/forums and went over them by hand, as I felt that gave me a better means to understand how different bits of code fit together and how to implement the things I found on the Windower wiki. Once I got started, I usually left a tab open to Windower's documentation for easy reference while writing scripts.

Beyond that, just ask questions and feel free to experiment. Coding is both art and science; there's an optimal path for specific things, but each person has their own needs and priorities. We approach a common problem from very different angles. Motenten for example created a simple but powerful structure that translated well between different jobs. Each of my xmls shared many concepts in design, but that backbone was modified as needed to maximize flexibility and power for each of my jobs. Redshift's WAR xml was another beast entirely, etc.
 Asura.Kaitaru
Offline
Server: Asura
Game: FFXI
user: Kaitaru89
Posts: 607
By Asura.Kaitaru 2015-04-30 16:23:19
Link | Quote | Reply
 
There wouldn't happen to be any updated PUP gearswaps would there? I have been poking around and only found this one:

Feary PUP.lua


Oops, found a nice one here: Kinematic's PUP.Lua

Also started reading this:

Gearswap for Dummies!

So what I gather from gearswap is that it functions in the way that spellcast did that when you use abilities or engage a mob/WS the addon automatically picks this up and swaps gear as needed? I saw a line in the .lua that mentions using commands when it says my puppet is using his Weaponskill, can I actually add a precast WS set for my pet and have it go off when the log says hes preparing it?
 Asura.Kaitaru
Offline
Server: Asura
Game: FFXI
user: Kaitaru89
Posts: 607
By Asura.Kaitaru 2015-05-01 16:07:43
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Copying this from where I posted it in the Gearswap thread since I haven't gotten a answer:

Granted with the new gearsets feature I feel it may be easier for me to use them since they are more simplistic than trying to learn GS. One question I have is using a equip set for overload with a wait command on it followed by a maneuver (now has no cast time) would it emulate precasting and still give me the bonuses since I added a delay before using the Pet command? Granted it does is it possible to lower it to .5 of a second? I forgot how you wrote that <wait .5>?

Also wanted to add if there way a way to emulate precast/midcast for things using the gearsets using shorter wait timers on a macro?
 Bismarck.Dubai
Offline
Server: Bismarck
Game: FFXI
user: Enitsu
Posts: 500
By Bismarck.Dubai 2015-05-01 16:14:29
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Asura.Kaitaru said: »
There wouldn't happen to be any updated PUP gearswaps would there? I have been poking around and only found this one:

Feary PUP.lua


Oops, found a nice one here: Kinematic's PUP.Lua

Also started reading this:

Gearswap for Dummies!

So what I gather from gearswap is that it functions in the way that spellcast did that when you use abilities or engage a mob/WS the addon automatically picks this up and swaps gear as needed? I saw a line in the .lua that mentions using commands when it says my puppet is using his Weaponskill, can I actually add a precast WS set for my pet and have it go off when the log says hes preparing it?

Would you know if there's any lua's for BLM's and SMN's?
 Asura.Kaitaru
Offline
Server: Asura
Game: FFXI
user: Kaitaru89
Posts: 607
By Asura.Kaitaru 2015-05-01 16:38:07
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Verda said: »
FFXI's native macro system won't let you do anything less than a wait 1, you can try using no wait command and just putting it right after, I've heard mixed results on that working however it seems to work sometimes and not on others.

Gearswap will work consistently on anything that is instant cast however. I'm unsure if gearswap lets you check if your pet is doing a WS but there is an entire pet object in gearswap letting you know a lot about it so I'd be surprised if that isn't in there. SMN does it via bloodpact command not checking the pet's action though and I'm pretty sure BST does it via a ready command.

Equipsets are usable to do most things but in reality it's a stripped down version of gearswap with more limitation, though it is easier to do Augmented gear with equipsets gearswap does let you do augmented gearswaps of the same name. Instant precast though is something I've heard doesn't work too well with equipsets so you might have to ask around some more to be sure. Doing
/equipset 1
/my ability
/equipset 2

works for some, even if you just do <wait> or /wait it defaults to 1 second and you can't do a wait less than 1 sec.
Figured as much, I can still do a wait one after doing a equipset for say Overload or repair and in theory it should still work but If I wanted to do things on say bard id be kinda boned. Some of the gearswap scripts seem very straightforward and I just need to change the equipment but I would like some feedback on how the TP/DT/HighACC gear changes are done.Also curious why it changes to my BLU/WAR Macro book when I log in with my PUP.lua, it says it defaults 3,9 if im subbing DNC but it say 1,9 2,9 3,9 e.t.c. for other subs so what does that mean?
 Odin.Viridiana
Offline
Server: Odin
Game: FFXI
user: Rythe
Posts: 6
By Odin.Viridiana 2015-05-03 01:02:46
Link | Quote | Reply
 
So I'm just coming back, and much to my dismay SpellCast doesn't seem to be a thing anymore, unfortunate, because I knew that very well.

My question is, I used to have something that would check buffs and change spells so I could buff with one macro basically, something like...
Code
<if Spell="Cocoon" subjob="RDM">
		<if notbuffactive="Protect" subjob="RDM|WHM">
				<changespell spell="Protect III" />				
			<else>
				<cancelspell />
			</else>
		</if>
		<elseif notbuffactive="Shell" subjob="RDM|WHM">
				<changespell spell="Shell II" />				
			<else>
				<cancelspell />
			</else>
		</elseif>                
		<elseif notbuffactive="Haste">
				<changespell spell="Animating wail" />		
		
		etc...


I was wondering if there was a way to set this up with gearswap? I really liked that set up for BLU.
Offline
Posts: 509
By Davorin 2015-05-03 01:18:44
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Verda said: »
FFXI's native macro system won't let you do anything less than a wait 1, you can try using no wait command and just putting it right after, I've heard mixed results on that working however it seems to work sometimes and not on others.

Gearswap will work consistently on anything that is instant cast however. I'm unsure if gearswap lets you check if your pet is doing a WS but there is an entire pet object in gearswap letting you know a lot about it so I'd be surprised if that isn't in there. SMN does it via bloodpact command not checking the pet's action though and I'm pretty sure BST does it via a ready command.

Equipsets are usable to do most things but in reality it's a stripped down version of gearswap with more limitation, though it is easier to do Augmented gear with equipsets gearswap does let you do augmented gearswaps of the same name. Instant precast though is something I've heard doesn't work too well with equipsets so you might have to ask around some more to be sure. Doing
/equipset 1
/my ability
/equipset 2

works for some, even if you just do <wait> or /wait it defaults to 1 second and you can't do a wait less than 1 sec.

Iirc, we can write a /wait to be less than 1. Something like
Code
 /wait 0.5 
or
Code
 /ja "Some ability" <t> <wait 0.5> 

It has been a little while since I've played so I may be misremembering. The other alternative is to write an "/echo" between lines for a small pause.
 Asura.Kaitaru
Offline
Server: Asura
Game: FFXI
user: Kaitaru89
Posts: 607
By Asura.Kaitaru 2015-05-03 03:14:19
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Verda said: »
In looking you're right, but this has been discussed 3x before here and the official forums that I have seen and everyone was wrong lol. So thanks for bringing that up. But ya it appears anything .5 works. Interestingly if you are over 60, it counts it as 0. So you might try
/wait .5
/wait 0.5
The talk page on ffxiclopedia says 2.5 works, and anything in .5 increments works, but you can't do .1, .2 etc.
Well trying to find this method as a way of making it work would personally be great. Certainly not a mid-cast or pre-cast capable method but no matter how many times I ask in many different ways no one that uses gearswap ever wants to answer me.I don't really even need a answer, just point me in a place I can read a book on this dang thing. While i found a old dummies guide (but it is extremely out dated and many things have changed) and read the tutorial on the Windower forums I can't get a concrete for beginners look at how switching between High ACC/LowACC and Hybrid/DT works.

I am willing to assume that whenever I "weaponskill" or cast a "spell" it will autoswap to that WS or MAB/Cure Pot/e.t.c. set, but aferwards from what I read it defaults at whatever you set as your primary TP/Idle. The question I have is where is this handled, and when I do need to swap to DT is it a 1 button press or are people just using the new equipset as a in between.
 Ragnarok.Martel
Offline
Server: Ragnarok
Game: FFXI
Posts: 2176
By Ragnarok.Martel 2015-05-03 03:51:38
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Verda said: »
In looking you're right, but this has been discussed 3x before here and the official forums that I have seen and everyone was wrong lol. So thanks for bringing that up. But ya it appears anything .5 works. Interestingly if you are over 60, it counts it as 0. So you might try
/wait .5
/wait 0.5
The talk page on ffxiclopedia says 2.5 works, and anything in .5 increments works, but you can't do .1, .2 etc.
Hmmm, can you link the posts you're referencing? I coulda sworn I'd tested this before, and that 0.x waits defaulted to 0. Thinking back though, I don't think I specifically tested 0.5 though.

EDIT:Found my previous test Here
[+]
 Ragnarok.Martel
Offline
Server: Ragnarok
Game: FFXI
Posts: 2176
By Ragnarok.Martel 2015-05-03 05:04:37
Link | Quote | Reply
 
So, addressing the idea that FFXI's native macro/wait system accepts decimal waits in increments of 0.5.

Test methods differ somewhat from last time. I will be using lua via gearswap and the os.clock() function to check the time. This is very precise compared to my prior timestamp based test.

The involved code:
Code
	if command == 'test' then
		timeStart = os.clock()
		message('Start:'..timeStart..'')
	end
	if command == 'test2' then	
		timeEnd = os.clock()
		timeSeconds = timeEnd-timeStart	
		message('End:'..timeEnd..' delay:Secs '..timeSeconds..'')
	end

Test 1. Measure the base delay of going from one macro line to the next.
Macro structure.
Code
/con gs c test
/con gs c test2

Results copied from logger logs.
Code
04:38:31Start:332165.66
04:38:31End:332165.695 delay:Secs 0.035000000032596
04:38:33Start:332167.123
04:38:33End:332167.161 delay:Secs 0.038000000000466
04:38:34Start:332168.482
04:38:34End:332168.515 delay:Secs 0.032999999995809
04:38:37Start:332171.44
04:38:37End:332171.473 delay:Secs 0.032999999995809
04:38:45Start:332179.226
04:38:45End:332179.261 delay:Secs 0.034999999974389
04:38:46Start:332180.722
04:38:46End:332180.756 delay:Secs 0.033999999985099
So, a 2 line macro generally incurs a delay of 0.032~.

Test 2. Does a <wait x> work when placed after /console in a FFXI macro? If it doesn't, additional macro lines will be needed, and the extra delay will need to be accounted for.

Macro.
Code
/con gs c test <wait 3>
/con gs c test2

Results.
Code
04:43:36Start:332470.944
04:43:39End:332474.005 delay:Secs 3.060999999987
04:43:42Start:332477.058
04:43:46End:332480.122 delay:Secs 3.0639999999548
04:43:48Start:332482.842
04:43:51End:332485.904 delay:Secs 3.0619999999763
So yes, a <wait x> will work after a /console. Which... honestly, is really weird. It's also interesting that the extra delay was 0.06 on a 2 line macro rather than 0.03. Maybe using a <wait> incurs an extra line worth of delay? But that's an issue for another time.

So, onto the main thing.

Test 3. Try using a 0.5 wait.

Macro.
Code
/con gs c test <wait 0.5>
/con gs c test2

Results.
Code
04:49:05Start:332799.908
04:49:05End:332799.941 delay:Secs 0.032999999995809
04:49:07Start:332801.846
04:49:07End:332801.879 delay:Secs 0.032999999995809
04:49:09Start:332803.343
04:49:09End:332803.375 delay:Secs 0.032000000006519
04:49:10Start:332804.939
04:49:10End:332804.973 delay:Secs 0.033999999985099
This is no different than the original control. The 0.5 wait is being floored to 0.

Test 4. use a wait of the same duration(0.5) but a differnt format. That being .5(leaving the 0 off)

Macro.
Code
/con gs c test <wait .5>
/con gs c test2

Results
Code
04:49:31Start:332826.052
04:49:32End:332827.106 delay:Secs 1.0540000000037
04:49:45Start:332839.721
04:49:46End:332840.776 delay:Secs 1.054999999993
04:49:48Start:332842.406
04:49:49End:332843.46 delay:Secs 1.0540000000037
Interestingly, a .5 wait(rather than 0.5) is rounded up to a 1 second wait. I guess when you use a 0 at the start, it just stops reading the number after that. I'm not going to list the data for it, but I tried a .3 as well, and it still changed to a 1 sec delay. So it's not as if it's actually rounding based on the value.

Conclusion. Decimal waits, including increments of 0.5, do NOT work in FFXI's wait/macro system.

If you need a decimal delay, you need to use scripts, or gearswap, etc. Cause FFXI itself won't have it.
[+]
Offline
Posts: 903
By FaeQueenCory 2015-05-03 09:23:35
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Since Martel already showed it... One would think that it need not be reiterated by one such as me.
But I also know people go full on derp when they see "math" like Martel's post.
Verda said: »
FFXI's native macro system won't let you do anything less than a wait 1,
"Wait 0" is a thing.
So the game does NOT round up to 1.
<wait> or as Martel showed <wait 0.X> or <wait 0> all give wait delays of "0". (Most likely all values of X will result in a wait 0, since FFXI generally prefers truncating or flooring numbers instead of rounding them... But someone would have to test 0.8 or such to verify.)
<wait> is especially good for SMN since they changed it.
All <wait> does is basically tell the game to finish the previous action before doing the next.
Hence why it's good for BPs.
 Ragnarok.Martel
Offline
Server: Ragnarok
Game: FFXI
Posts: 2176
By Ragnarok.Martel 2015-05-03 09:35:08
Link | Quote | Reply
 
My original test, linked a few posted up, used a 0.9 wait to test. And it still resulted in a 0 sec wait. So that's already verified. All this test really did is show that 0.5 waits weren't some kind of exception. Well, and measured things far more precisely.
[+]
 Ragnarok.Martel
Offline
Server: Ragnarok
Game: FFXI
Posts: 2176
By Ragnarok.Martel 2015-05-03 09:58:07
Link | Quote | Reply
 
FaeQueenCory said: »
<wait> or as Martel showed <wait 0.X> or <wait 0> all give wait delays of "0".
Actually, I checked it just now, and <wait> with no value specified defaults to a 1 second delay.
[+]
First Page 2 3 ... 366 367 368 ... 621 622 623
Log in to post.