FFXIV Mouse Lag Fix

Language: JP EN DE FR
New Items
2019-10-10
users online
Forum » FFXIV » General » FFXIV Mouse Lag Fix
FFXIV Mouse Lag Fix
First Page 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
 Pandemonium.Spicyryan
Offline
Server: Pandemonium
Game: FFXI
user: Spicyryan
Posts: 8800
By Pandemonium.Spicyryan 2010-09-07 12:23:35
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Lakshmi.Jaerik said:
Cliff != Scragg. Cliff is another of the site's three co-founders.

As he quit FF11 long before the community side of our web tools were written, he has no linked character but is still a site admin.

Also, anyone who guesses the significance of his avatar without consulting teh Google wins one (1)* cookie.











(* There is no actual cookie.)


 Asura.Meowzma
Offline
Server: Asura
Game: FFXI
user: meowzma
Posts: 327
By Asura.Meowzma 2010-09-07 12:51:47
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Lakshmi.Jaerik said:
I also noticed that when the Receive ping gets high and/or the connection icon goes yellow or red, your character begins to lag on movement commands -- even continuous movement -- and jerks around a bit.

This is actually a good thing, in a way. (Minus the lag in the first place, which is pretty brutal.) It implies that character position is done on the server side and not the client, so hopefully FF14 won't be flooded with teleport hacks again.

It actually feels like the menus and everything else is server-sided (the maps being the most obvious as they sometimes download square-by-square like you're on Google maps), I find this laggy and well, ***tbh.

I hope there is more to the client side in live.
 Gilgamesh.Alyria
VIP
Offline
Server: Gilgamesh
Game: FFXI
user: alyria
Posts: 13080
By Gilgamesh.Alyria 2010-09-07 12:58:55
Link | Quote | Reply
 
if anyone has installed the mouse patch, you have to restore the original boot for the new patch today.
 Lakshmi.Jaerik
Administrator
Offline
Server: Lakshmi
Game: FFXI
user: Jaerik
Posts: 3834
By Lakshmi.Jaerik 2010-09-07 13:00:02
Link | Quote | Reply
 
The information that populates the menus are server side, but most of the UI itself is client-side. It just takes awhile to fetch the data.

I imagine that part will get better quickly once we're running on real servers with release-level bandwidth.

The more things that are server-side, the less hacking, cheats, and bots will creep into the game over time. (Theoretically.)
 Ragnarok.Anye
Offline
Server: Ragnarok
Game: FFXI
user: Anye
Posts: 5449
By Ragnarok.Anye 2010-09-07 13:07:20
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Lakshmi.Jaerik said:
The information that populates the menus are server side, but most of the UI itself is client-side. It just takes awhile to fetch the data.

I imagine that part will get better quickly once we're running on real servers with release-level bandwidth.

The more things that are server-side, the less hacking, cheats, and bots will creep into the game over time. (Theoretically.)
Isn't that why all my WoW friends boast they've never been hacked? :/
Offline
Posts: 38
By idkbro 2010-09-07 13:09:45
Link | Quote | Reply
 
:< ok so I'm half retarded, but I'm not too sureeee on how to back up FFXIV so I don't have to reinstall like an idiot. >_>;

Can someone teach me how to not be an idiot D:? <3
[+]
 Lakshmi.Jaerik
Administrator
Offline
Server: Lakshmi
Game: FFXI
user: Jaerik
Posts: 3834
By Lakshmi.Jaerik 2010-09-07 13:10:10
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Really? My WoW friends get hacked all the time. My roommate got hacked just a week ago, despite not even logging on for ~6 months.

Granted, the WoW GM's are pretty responsive to hacking and will restore your stuff without much trouble...
 Fairy.Victoire
Offline
Server: Fairy
Game: FFXI
user: Alexandre
Posts: 87
By Fairy.Victoire 2010-09-07 13:11:15
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Ragnarok.Anye said:
Lakshmi.Jaerik said:
The information that populates the menus are server side, but most of the UI itself is client-side. It just takes awhile to fetch the data. I imagine that part will get better quickly once we're running on real servers with release-level bandwidth. The more things that are server-side, the less hacking, cheats, and bots will creep into the game over time. (Theoretically.)
Isn't that why all my WoW friends boast they've never been hacked? :/
My WoW account got hacked by an RMT who was spamming their Goldwebsite and I was banned. It took almost 2 weeks to get my account back.
 Ragnarok.Anye
Offline
Server: Ragnarok
Game: FFXI
user: Anye
Posts: 5449
By Ragnarok.Anye 2010-09-07 13:11:26
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Lakshmi.Jaerik said:
Really? My WoW friends get hacked all the time. My roommate got hacked just a week ago, despite not even logging on for ~6 months.

Granted, the WoW GM's are pretty responsive to hacking and will restore your stuff without much trouble...
Huh. My friend has some 'splainin' to do....
Offline
Posts: 38
By idkbro 2010-09-07 13:22:58
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Anywun Q_Q..?
 Quetzalcoatl.Tabas
Offline
Server: Quetzalcoatl
Game: FFXI
user: Tabas
Posts: 2
By Quetzalcoatl.Tabas 2010-09-07 13:27:00
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Plus there's the fact that WoW stores a lot of things client-side to reduce server strain. Player position and flight paths both come to mind.

Not that any of this has anything to do with how easy it is to hack an account -- barring the inclusion of two-factor authentication (such as security tokens), the easiest methods of attack are the same for all MMOs. (Phishing emails, spam tells that pretend to be from GMs, taking advantage of yet another Flash vulnerability to install a keylogger...)
 Sylph.Idkbro
Offline
Server: Sylph
Game: FFXI
user: idkbro
Posts: 31
By Sylph.Idkbro 2010-09-07 13:33:35
Link | Quote | Reply
 
idkbro said:
Ok so I'm half retarded, but I'm not too sureeee on how to back up FFXIV so I don't have to reinstall like an idiot. >_>;

Can someone teach me how to not be an idiot D:? <3


Can someone please help me?..>_>
[+]
 Fairy.Victoire
Offline
Server: Fairy
Game: FFXI
user: Alexandre
Posts: 87
By Fairy.Victoire 2010-09-07 13:38:54
Link | Quote | Reply
 
You just have to go to my Computer > Program Files > SquareEnix and I think it's FFXIVGame.exe, 12MB. I'm not 100 percent sure it's on my other computer, but copy that and keep it as a back up somewhere else.
 Sylph.Idkbro
Offline
Server: Sylph
Game: FFXI
user: idkbro
Posts: 31
By Sylph.Idkbro 2010-09-07 13:43:03
Link | Quote | Reply
 
ffxivboot I think is what it's called, cause that's 12MB.


So that's really all I do o_O?.. I'm kind of scared to use the mouse patch again, cause this is my second time re-installing xD;
[+]
 Fairy.Victoire
Offline
Server: Fairy
Game: FFXI
user: Alexandre
Posts: 87
By Fairy.Victoire 2010-09-07 13:44:07
Link | Quote | Reply
 
No, not FFXIVboot it's called FFXIVgame.exe I might have the file size wrong, but that's the correct file name.
 Gilgamesh.Alyria
VIP
Offline
Server: Gilgamesh
Game: FFXI
user: alyria
Posts: 13080
By Gilgamesh.Alyria 2010-09-07 13:45:19
Link | Quote | Reply
 
I see a ffxivboot not a ffxigame.exe >.> also
 Sylph.Idkbro
Offline
Server: Sylph
Game: FFXI
user: idkbro
Posts: 31
By Sylph.Idkbro 2010-09-07 13:46:30
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Gilgamesh.Alyria said:
I see a ffxivboot not a ffxigame.exe >.> also

Yeah @_@ I don't see a ffxivgame anywhere in my pc. I'm getting worried now eep.
 Phoenix.Oumura
Offline
Server: Phoenix
Game: FFXI
user: Oumura
Posts: 3460
By Phoenix.Oumura 2010-09-07 13:50:30
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Sylph.Idkbro said:
Gilgamesh.Alyria said:
I see a ffxivboot not a ffxigame.exe >.> also

Yeah @_@ I don't see a ffxivgame anywhere in my pc. I'm getting worried now eep.
The "ffxivgame" should be there. It just wont have the .exe file extension on it. :P
 Lakshmi.Jaerik
Administrator
Offline
Server: Lakshmi
Game: FFXI
user: Jaerik
Posts: 3834
By Lakshmi.Jaerik 2010-09-07 13:51:52
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Dear god, the Ambient Occlusion setting (a type of shading algorithm) in the graphics config utility makes the game look better. No idea why that isn't on by default. Probably because it's a beast re: framerate unless you have a high-end box.
 Phoenix.Oumura
Offline
Server: Phoenix
Game: FFXI
user: Oumura
Posts: 3460
By Phoenix.Oumura 2010-09-07 13:53:45
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Lakshmi.Jaerik said:
Dear god, the Ambient Occlusion setting (a type of shading algorithm) in the graphics config utility makes the game look better. No idea why that isn't on by default. Probably because it's a beast re: framerate unless you have a high-end box.
Unfortunately it bogs down too much if I turn it on. :\
 Fairy.Victoire
Offline
Server: Fairy
Game: FFXI
user: Alexandre
Posts: 87
By Fairy.Victoire 2010-09-07 13:55:42
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Make sure you're going into my computer > program files > Square Enix > FFXIV BETA
 Sylph.Idkbro
Offline
Server: Sylph
Game: FFXI
user: idkbro
Posts: 31
By Sylph.Idkbro 2010-09-07 13:56:48
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Phoenix.Oumura said:
Sylph.Idkbro said:
Gilgamesh.Alyria said:
I see a ffxivboot not a ffxigame.exe >.> also

Yeah @_@ I don't see a ffxivgame anywhere in my pc. I'm getting worried now eep.
The "ffxivgame" should be there. It just wont have the .exe file extension on it. :P

...omg I seriously feel r-tarded. I don't see ffxivgame anywhere xD; just ffxivupdater, boot, setup, and config.
[+]
Administrator
Offline
Posts: 16
By Cliff 2010-09-07 13:57:30
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Updated patcher for 2010.09.07.2001.
 Fairy.Victoire
Offline
Server: Fairy
Game: FFXI
user: Alexandre
Posts: 87
By Fairy.Victoire 2010-09-07 13:58:29
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Cliff said:
Updated patcher for 2010.09.07.2001.
YESSS THANK YOU!
 Phoenix.Oumura
Offline
Server: Phoenix
Game: FFXI
user: Oumura
Posts: 3460
By Phoenix.Oumura 2010-09-07 13:58:38
Link | Quote | Reply
 
If you're running Vista/7 64-bit make sure you're checking the Program Files(x86) folder and not just the Program Files folder.
 Sylph.Idkbro
Offline
Server: Sylph
Game: FFXI
user: idkbro
Posts: 31
By Sylph.Idkbro 2010-09-07 14:00:27
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Phoenix.Oumura said:
If you're running Vista/7 64-bit make sure you're checking the Program Files(x86) folder and not just the Program Files folder.


Yeah I've been in (x86) :<



edit:

just woke up from a nap, found it >_> it's cause i was installing it while looking for it. mybad.
[+]
 Phoenix.Oumura
Offline
Server: Phoenix
Game: FFXI
user: Oumura
Posts: 3460
By Phoenix.Oumura 2010-09-07 14:00:55
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Wow the game came up an entire hour early...

Nevermind I can't count.
[+]
 Ramuh.Krizz
Offline
Server: Ramuh
Game: FFXI
user: Krizz
Posts: 23561
By Ramuh.Krizz 2010-09-07 14:41:07
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Cliff said:
Updated patcher for 2010.09.07.2001.
The normal .exe as of today's patch in case someone doesn't back it up before applying the mouse fix.
http://tehkrizz.net/Gaming/FFXIV/ffxivgame.exe
 Gilgamesh.Alyria
VIP
Offline
Server: Gilgamesh
Game: FFXI
user: alyria
Posts: 13080
By Gilgamesh.Alyria 2010-09-07 14:44:56
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Woot you rock :)
Offline
Posts: 7
By nizchetus 2010-09-07 14:51:44
Link | Quote | Reply
 
I'm stupid and didn't back up my exe file last night, and then I just replaced it with the exe file posted above me... and then realised it was 9.07, not 9.06.

Does anyone have the unpatched 9.06 exe so I can update this? Me rove you rong time?
First Page 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Log in to post.