FFXIV Mouse Lag Fix

Language: JP EN DE FR
New Items
2019-10-10
users online
Forum » FFXIV » General » FFXIV Mouse Lag Fix
FFXIV Mouse Lag Fix
First Page 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
 Fenrir.Mashuga
Offline
Server: Fenrir
Game: FFXI
Posts: 8
By Fenrir.Mashuga 2010-09-06 01:08:37
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Ironically, Prevx flagged it as a trojan. I highly, highly doubt it is and reported it as a false positive.. But still funny considering Zicdeh's "Inb4itsatrojan."

Servers need to go back up so I can play with teh better mouse though :(
Administrator
Offline
Posts: 16
By Cliff 2010-09-06 01:16:47
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Fenrir.Mashuga said:
Ironically, Prevx flagged it as a trojan. I highly, highly doubt it is and reported it as a false positive.. But still funny considering Zicdeh's "Inb4itsatrojan."


And this is yet another example of why antivirus programs are a plague upon the world.

I work for one of SE's competitors.. it would be criminally retarded of me to release FFXIV software with viruses in them.

-cliff
[+]
Offline
Posts: 216
By Blkninja 2010-09-06 01:18:27
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Cliff can you post a pic where your suppost to put the program in please?
 Lakshmi.Jaerik
Administrator
Offline
Server: Lakshmi
Game: FFXI
user: Jaerik
Posts: 3834
By Lakshmi.Jaerik 2010-09-06 01:20:10
Link | Quote | Reply
 
If anyone is even slightly suspicious of something Cliff's worked on, they should probably stop using this site right now. =p
[+]
 Phoenix.Oumura
Offline
Server: Phoenix
Game: FFXI
user: Oumura
Posts: 3460
By Phoenix.Oumura 2010-09-06 01:20:53
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Blkninja said:
Cliff can you post a pic where your suppost to put the program in please?
This is the filepath that leads to the folder the patch should be in when you run it. Keep in mind this is if you're running Vista/7.

C:\Program Files (x86)\SquareEnix\FINAL FANTASY XIV Beta Version
 Kujata.Erim
Offline
Server: Kujata
Game: FFXI
user: Erim
Posts: 704
By Kujata.Erim 2010-09-06 01:21:43
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Blkninja said:
Cliff can you post a pic where your suppost to put the program in please?

Program Files\SquareEnix\Final Fantasy XIV Beta Version\
or
Program Files (x86)\SquareEnix\Final Fantasy XIV Beta Version\
Offline
Posts: 216
By Blkninja 2010-09-06 01:23:08
Link | Quote | Reply
 
thanks :D
 Valefor.Desert
Offline
Server: Valefor
Game: FFXI
user: Desert
Posts: 8
By Valefor.Desert 2010-09-06 01:31:41
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Worked for me; very neat!
 Asura.Yekyaa
Offline
Server: Asura
Game: FFXI
user: Yekyaa
Posts: 42
By Asura.Yekyaa 2010-09-06 01:35:45
Link | Quote | Reply
 
<3 you Cliff!
Yes, this freakin' works. I tested before and after with 09.05.2000 boot version (still have a backup just in case).

I thought the lag wasn't so bad, but after using your patch, i'd swear your skills are just Black Gypsy Magiks.
 Asura.Israfel
Offline
Server: Asura
Game: FFXI
user: Tmuler
Posts: 1085
By Asura.Israfel 2010-09-06 01:38:17
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Cliff is badass, even at the character select screen where I was suffering mouse-lag this has cleared up to no end. Can't wait til Trabia is back up so I can test this out properly~

Thank you for putting your time and effort into this, it's much appreciated~!

/smiley-toss :-)
 Asura.Meowzma
Offline
Server: Asura
Game: FFXI
user: meowzma
Posts: 327
By Asura.Meowzma 2010-09-06 01:40:13
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Cliff said:
I think I fixed mouse lag in FFXIV.

So, when can we expect XIV windower with TParty? :3
[+]
 Odin.Zicdeh
Offline
Server: Odin
Game: FFXI
Posts: 6558
By Odin.Zicdeh 2010-09-06 01:59:03
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Asura.Meowzma said:
Cliff said:
I think I fixed mouse lag in FFXIV.

So, when can we expect XIV windower with TParty? :3


Isn't that kind of poinltess in the FFXIV battle system? You get like 400-1200 TP per strike XD, and with the stamina system, it can take all of 3 seconds to get enough to do a weapon skill.
 Asura.Meowzma
Offline
Server: Asura
Game: FFXI
user: meowzma
Posts: 327
By Asura.Meowzma 2010-09-06 02:02:20
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Odin.Zicdeh said:
Asura.Meowzma said:
Cliff said:
I think I fixed mouse lag in FFXIV.

So, when can we expect XIV windower with TParty? :3


Isn't that kind of poinltess in the FFXIV battle system? You get like 400-1200 TP per strike XD, and with the stamina system, it can take all of 3 seconds to get enough to do a weapon skill.

Mostly for a giggle tbh. Need to experiment with that Battle Regimen business; It's like a weaponskill chain... that you set in advance.

 Ragnarok.Deadgye
Offline
Server: Ragnarok
Game: FFXI
user: Deadgye
Posts: 16
By Ragnarok.Deadgye 2010-09-06 02:13:41
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Teach me the ways of being awesome Cliff. What skills are you using to be able to do this stuff? I want to see if any of it coincides with my future college course electives.
 Ramuh.Tousou
Offline
Server: Ramuh
Game: FFXI
user: Toufu
Posts: 2083
By Ramuh.Tousou 2010-09-06 02:15:06
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Ragnarok.Deadgye said:
Teach me the ways of being awesome Cliff. What skills are you using to be able to do this stuff? I want to see if any of it coincides with my future college course electives.
Asura.Yekyaa said:
Black Gypsy Magiks.

I'm surprised nobody's begged for an *Cough* Auto-Attack feature *Cough*
[+]
 Asura.Meowzma
Offline
Server: Asura
Game: FFXI
user: meowzma
Posts: 327
By Asura.Meowzma 2010-09-06 02:19:36
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Ramuh.Tousou said:
Ragnarok.Deadgye said:
Teach me the ways of being awesome Cliff. What skills are you using to be able to do this stuff? I want to see if any of it coincides with my future college course electives.
Asura.Yekyaa said:
Black Gypsy Magiks.

I'm surprised nobody's begged for an *Cough* Auto-Attack feature *Cough*

No thanks. Anything to stop BLMs going afk resting!
 Quetzalcoatl.Tabas
Offline
Server: Quetzalcoatl
Game: FFXI
user: Tabas
Posts: 2
By Quetzalcoatl.Tabas 2010-09-06 02:22:51
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Fenrir.Mashuga said:
Ironically, Prevx flagged it as a trojan. I highly, highly doubt it is and reported it as a false positive.. But still funny considering Zicdeh's "Inb4itsatrojan."

Servers need to go back up so I can play with teh better mouse though :(

Considering it's explictly designed to modify a digitally signed file, I can see how it could trip a "Generic Trojan" warning.
 Asura.Daleterrence
Offline
Server: Asura
Game: FFXI
user: Dalight
Posts: 5078
By Asura.Daleterrence 2010-09-06 02:26:06
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Lakshmi.Jaerik said:
If anyone is even slightly suspicious of something Cliff's worked on, they should probably stop using this site right now. =p

It's a trap!
 Fenrir.Mashuga
Offline
Server: Fenrir
Game: FFXI
Posts: 8
By Fenrir.Mashuga 2010-09-06 02:32:51
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Quote:
Regarding technical difficulties where players are unable to access FINAL FANTASY XIV, the recovery operation is estimated to be complete at 2:00 (PDT) on Sep. 6, 2010.

Please click here for more details.

Le sigh.

Full post in teh spoiler.
 Quetzalcoatl.Yasihiko
Offline
Server: Quetzalcoatl
Game: FFXI
user: Yasihiko
Posts: 1
By Quetzalcoatl.Yasihiko 2010-09-06 02:34:48
Link | Quote | Reply
 
It's not like I don't trust you cliff, but I don't want to risk getting my account axed. Not after I secured the name Big Boss. Hehe.
[+]
Offline
Posts: 76
By Raldo 2010-09-06 02:35:44
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Maybe it's just 'cause the only MMO I've ever played was FFXI, but... people use the mouse for these games?
[+]
 Ragnarok.Deadgye
Offline
Server: Ragnarok
Game: FFXI
user: Deadgye
Posts: 16
By Ragnarok.Deadgye 2010-09-06 02:39:00
Link | Quote | Reply
 
I personally can't see any reason to use the mouse in this game so I never had a problem with the mouse being bad. The only time I even think about using it is during the lobby when I'm in the process of logging in, but even then the arrow keys work best.

That being said, them not fixing something easily fixable is still stupid.
[+]
 Asura.Meowzma
Offline
Server: Asura
Game: FFXI
user: meowzma
Posts: 327
By Asura.Meowzma 2010-09-06 02:44:34
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Raldo said:
Maybe it's just 'cause the only MMO I've ever played was FFXI, but... people use the mouse for these games?

FFXI is playable with joypad as there isn't a hotbar. At best, you can hold a trigger button and click a macro.

But REAL PvP (not auto-attacks) in other MMOs (MXO, SWG, RFO, WoW, for example), there is no way you can play with a joypad properly; there aren't enough keys, or little support for multi-button binds.

I do play XI and XIV with 360 pad, though.
 Seraph.Rafik
Offline
Server: Seraph
Game: FFXI
user: dascorp
Posts: 1051
By Seraph.Rafik 2010-09-06 02:47:52
Link | Quote | Reply
 
BG website already has macros for this game going
 Asura.Meowzma
Offline
Server: Asura
Game: FFXI
user: meowzma
Posts: 327
By Asura.Meowzma 2010-09-06 02:54:23
Link | Quote | Reply
 
I don't know what BG is.
[+]
 Odin.Blazza
Offline
Server: Odin
Game: FFXI
user: Blazza
Posts: 6473
By Odin.Blazza 2010-09-06 02:56:46
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Nice work, now any chance you can get the camera working with the arrow keys? Removing that control was such a retarded choice on SE's behalf...
 Asura.Kowen
Offline
Server: Asura
Game: FFXI
user: Kowen
Posts: 470
By Asura.Kowen 2010-09-06 02:57:19
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Just tried it now at the title screen and it feels great. The cursor looks a little weird now though, like someone shrunk it in paint.

Why do you think they haven't added an option to toggle it on yet? If SE really doesn't want people using programs like windower, they need to stop "hiding" things that should be visible/usable in the first place...
[+]
 Odin.Zicdeh
Offline
Server: Odin
Game: FFXI
Posts: 6558
By Odin.Zicdeh 2010-09-06 03:03:09
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Can I post a link to this on the FFXIV.core Forums to let people know about this glorious patch?

I already did, but out of glee, I didn't think it through, and didn't want to see cliff hit with any fallout from square over this, so I modded the post and removed the link and credit to the fix.

I'll await clearance.
 Asura.Meowzma
Offline
Server: Asura
Game: FFXI
user: meowzma
Posts: 327
By Asura.Meowzma 2010-09-06 03:04:07
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Asura.Kowen said:
Just tried it now at the title screen and it feels great. The cursor looks a little weird now though, like someone shrunk it in paint.

Why do you think they haven't added an option to toggle it on yet? If SE really doesn't want people using programs like windower, they need to stop "hiding" things that should be visible/usable in the first place...

+1 from me.

Who knows. In the Alpha phase, there weren't any settings for your graphics or the screen resolution, so you'd log in with everything on full blast @ 1280*720.

Only thing thing you could change is what port you wanted to use
 Odin.Blazza
Offline
Server: Odin
Game: FFXI
user: Blazza
Posts: 6473
By Odin.Blazza 2010-09-06 03:12:03
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Asura.Meowzma said:
Asura.Kowen said:
Just tried it now at the title screen and it feels great. The cursor looks a little weird now though, like someone shrunk it in paint.

Why do you think they haven't added an option to toggle it on yet? If SE really doesn't want people using programs like windower, they need to stop "hiding" things that should be visible/usable in the first place...

+1 from me.

Who knows. In the Alpha phase, there weren't any settings for your graphics or the screen resolution, so you'd log in with everything on full blast @ 1280*720.

Only thing thing you could change is what port you wanted to use
Erm, can't remember if this applied for the alpha, (I think it did) but certainly from an early beta version there's been a config.exe you could open to tweak all that.

"C:\Program Files (x86)\SquareEnix\FINAL FANTASY XIV Beta Version\ffxivconfig.exe"

Erm, nvm, 4th of July that was created on my system, so unless that was a reinstall, that coincides with closed beta release.
First Page 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Log in to post.