FFXIV Mouse Lag Fix

Language: JP EN DE FR
New Items
2019-10-10
users online
Forum » FFXIV » General » FFXIV Mouse Lag Fix
FFXIV Mouse Lag Fix
First Page 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
 Asura.Biddy
Offline
Server: Asura
Game: FFXI
user: BunkMonk
Posts: 75
By Asura.Biddy 2010-09-06 11:23:46
Link | Quote | Reply
 
OMG - this is amazing. <3 THANK YOU! :)
[+]
 Kujata.Rakirte
Offline
Server: Kujata
Game: FFXI
user: Rakirte
Posts: 1
By Kujata.Rakirte 2010-09-06 15:35:36
Link | Quote | Reply
 
You are my hero.
 Bismarck.Nevill
Offline
Server: Bismarck
Game: FFXI
user: Nevill
Posts: 2420
By Bismarck.Nevill 2010-09-06 16:00:00
Link | Quote | Reply
 
lol anon administrator
 Asura.Yekyaa
Offline
Server: Asura
Game: FFXI
user: Yekyaa
Posts: 42
By Asura.Yekyaa 2010-09-06 16:25:59
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Ugh... after going through the whole "restore from backup" reapply patches, apply MouseFix, i forgot to get a backup copy of the new 09.06.2000 patch file and have since deleted the old one as well ;;
Any chance someone has a backup of today's ffxivgame.exe before the MouseFix patch is applied?
[+]
Offline
Posts: 3
By Eugenitor 2010-09-06 16:39:23
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Here you go. (I'll leave it on the server for a couple of days)

Now all Cliff needs to do is fix the infinite loop gobbling up a whole core (doesn't matter what your system is, this bug EATS ONE CORE, or possibly half a core on Intel hyperthreaded systems) all the way from the frickin' title screen, and he will officially be God.
 Lakshmi.Azrial
Offline
Server: Lakshmi
Game: FFXI
user: Azrial
Posts: 93
By Lakshmi.Azrial 2010-09-06 16:44:41
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Lakshmi.Jaerik said:
If anyone is even slightly suspicious of something Cliff's worked on, they should probably stop using this site right now. =p


Haha, this made me lol pretty hard
 Asura.Yekyaa
Offline
Server: Asura
Game: FFXI
user: Yekyaa
Posts: 42
By Asura.Yekyaa 2010-09-06 16:46:04
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Eugenitor said:
Here you go. (I'll leave it on the server for a couple of days)

Now all Cliff needs to do is fix the infinite loop gobbling up a whole core (doesn't matter what your system is, this bug EATS ONE CORE, or possibly half a core on Intel hyperthreaded systems) all the way from the frickin' title screen, and he will officially be God.

Thanks, I assume since it was such a quick response, that you haven't managed to apply some Trojan to it ^^
Offline
Posts: 3
By Eugenitor 2010-09-06 16:47:48
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Asura.Yekyaa said:
Thanks, assume since it was such a quick response, that you haven't managed to apply some Trojan to it ^^

Well, if there is a virus, I hope you let me know.. because that's the same copy I've been running! (Still waiting for some kind of solution to this CPU bug before I actually start playing FFXIV again. Half of a dual-core system can't run it worth a crap.)
 Lakshmi.Jaerik
Administrator
Offline
Server: Lakshmi
Game: FFXI
user: Jaerik
Posts: 3834
By Lakshmi.Jaerik 2010-09-06 17:28:21
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Cliff != Scragg. Cliff is another of the site's three co-founders.

As he quit FF11 long before the community side of our web tools were written, he has no linked character but is still a site admin.

Also, anyone who guesses the significance of his avatar without consulting teh Google wins one (1)* cookie.











(* There is no actual cookie.)
[+]
 Phoenix.Kojo
Forum Moderator
Offline
Server: Phoenix
Game: FFXI
user: AnnaMolly
Posts: 12308
By Phoenix.Kojo 2010-09-06 17:35:32
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Lakshmi.Jaerik said:
Cliff != Scragg. Cliff is another of the site's three co-founders. As he quit FF11 long before the community side of our web tools were written, he has no linked character but is still a site admin. Also, anyone who guesses the significance of his avatar without consulting teh Google wins one (1)* cookie. (* There is no actual cookie.)

Tic-Tac-Toe, across the bottom, now don't give me my not cookie.
 Lakshmi.Jaerik
Administrator
Offline
Server: Lakshmi
Game: FFXI
user: Jaerik
Posts: 3834
By Lakshmi.Jaerik 2010-09-06 17:43:11
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Phoenix.Kojo said:
Tic-Tac-Toe, across the bottom, now don't give me my not cookie.

Fail.
 Phoenix.Kojo
Forum Moderator
Offline
Server: Phoenix
Game: FFXI
user: AnnaMolly
Posts: 12308
By Phoenix.Kojo 2010-09-06 17:44:36
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Lakshmi.Jaerik said:
Phoenix.Kojo said:
Tic-Tac-Toe, across the bottom, now don't give me my not cookie.
NO U.

NO! I'm listening to It's a Sin, ATM. Can't hear the vid/wav/whatever.
 Bismarck.Calina
Offline
Server: Bismarck
Game: FFXI
user: calina
Posts: 76
By Bismarck.Calina 2010-09-06 17:57:29
Link | Quote | Reply
 
patch works great thanks^^

game sooo much easier to play using my razor naga then a controller hehe
 Asura.Ketak
Offline
Server: Asura
Game: FFXI
user: Ketak
Posts: 2
By Asura.Ketak 2010-09-06 19:02:55
Link | Quote | Reply
 
2 1 7 in binary?
 Asura.Meowzma
Offline
Server: Asura
Game: FFXI
user: meowzma
Posts: 327
By Asura.Meowzma 2010-09-06 19:16:15
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Odin.Blazza said:
Asura.Meowzma said:
Asura.Kowen said:
Just tried it now at the title screen and it feels great. The cursor looks a little weird now though, like someone shrunk it in paint.

Why do you think they haven't added an option to toggle it on yet? If SE really doesn't want people using programs like windower, they need to stop "hiding" things that should be visible/usable in the first place...

+1 from me.

Who knows. In the Alpha phase, there weren't any settings for your graphics or the screen resolution, so you'd log in with everything on full blast @ 1280*720.

Only thing thing you could change is what port you wanted to use
Erm, can't remember if this applied for the alpha, (I think it did) but certainly from an early beta version there's been a config.exe you could open to tweak all that.

"C:\Program Files (x86)\SquareEnix\FINAL FANTASY XIV Beta Version\ffxivconfig.exe"

Erm, nvm, 4th of July that was created on my system, so unless that was a reinstall, that coincides with closed beta release.

Config in Alpha only changed network port, not screen size etc. There wasn't even an option to change controls on 360pad (though it did work, you had to guess what the buttons were).
 Fenrir.Scragg
Administrator
Offline
Server: Fenrir
Game: FFXI
user: Scragg
Posts: 2579
By Fenrir.Scragg 2010-09-06 19:16:24
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Can I give a hint?
 Phoenix.Kojo
Forum Moderator
Offline
Server: Phoenix
Game: FFXI
user: AnnaMolly
Posts: 12308
By Phoenix.Kojo 2010-09-06 19:19:32
Link | Quote | Reply
 
I want ice cream..
Offline
Posts: 1
By Viena 2010-09-06 20:28:38
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Fenrir.Scragg said:
Can I give a hint?

Is it alive?
Offline
Posts: 1
By verbal 2010-09-06 20:35:13
Link | Quote | Reply
 
It's a glider in Conway's game of life.
[+]
 Siren.Enternius
Offline
Server: Siren
Game: FFXI
user: Enternius
Posts: 10387
By Siren.Enternius 2010-09-06 20:44:18
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Fenrir.Scragg said:
Can I give a hint?
[+]
 Asura.Meowzma
Offline
Server: Asura
Game: FFXI
user: meowzma
Posts: 327
By Asura.Meowzma 2010-09-06 20:56:33
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Haha, a personal digg from SE.
By DAOWAce 2010-09-06 21:50:45
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Leviathan.Catnipthief said:
I believe the problem is it being server side rather then client side, I really do believe that once retail hits and we have a disk that installs stuff a bit more reliably that they will put stuff that should be client side... client side (IE, mouse, UI, idk what else really >.>)

Nah, not even that. I should've used the word 'sluggish'. It feels like the menu is operating in, well, software mode. The animation of the menu seems to be capped at 30FPS. It just feels so sluggish.

The latency with things like the craft menu, skills menu, item management, etc, that's all a whole different problem resulting in the servers being overloaded, and in Japan.

If we get regional servers and a non sluggish UI, I'll consider purchasing the game. Until then, I just can't play with the ridiculous lag in present time. 7 years ago was fine since I was on dial-up, it felt normal (and I was younger, more computer illiterate). Not so anymore, so it's extremely noticeable.
[+]
 Odin.Luthe
Offline
Server: Odin
Game: FFXI
user: utoxin
Posts: 7
By Odin.Luthe 2010-09-06 22:11:59
Link | Quote | Reply
 
What I want to know, is when will Cliff release a pseudo-fullscreen mode for XIV? I really really want it. :)
 Kujata.Erim
Offline
Server: Kujata
Game: FFXI
user: Erim
Posts: 704
By Kujata.Erim 2010-09-06 23:24:19
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Odin.Luthe said:
What I want to know, is when will Cliff release a pseudo-fullscreen mode for XIV? I really really want it. :)

You can sort of do that now using this.

The problem I have with this solution is that I lag pretty bad while doing it.
 Kujata.Erim
Offline
Server: Kujata
Game: FFXI
user: Erim
Posts: 704
By Kujata.Erim 2010-09-06 23:41:52
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Oh right, and the emblem, if I remember correctly is referred to as the Glider. Shows association with hackers I think. I haven't seen it in a long time.
 Odin.Luthe
Offline
Server: Odin
Game: FFXI
user: utoxin
Posts: 7
By Odin.Luthe 2010-09-07 09:20:33
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Kujata.Erim said:
Odin.Luthe said:
What I want to know, is when will Cliff release a pseudo-fullscreen mode for XIV? I really really want it. :)

You can sort of do that now using this.

The problem I have with this solution is that I lag pretty bad while doing it.

Yeah... which is why I want Cliff to do it. FFXI windower /rocks/. It actually performs better than SE's own windowed mode.
 Gilgamesh.Katsuuu
Offline
Server: Gilgamesh
Game: FFXI
user: Brimah
Posts: 1
By Gilgamesh.Katsuuu 2010-09-07 09:21:21
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Do you have a downgrade patch for version 2010.09.06.2000.

because i forgot the backed up, this morning :( I'm sorry!
Administrator
Offline
Posts: 16
By Cliff 2010-09-07 12:18:08
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Odin.Luthe said:
What I want to know, is when will Cliff release a pseudo-fullscreen mode for XIV? I really really want it. :)

I'd wait for Azaril to pull himself away from his girlfriend and/or work to do it. He put together a really great windower for windower 4.0, and I'm sure it would work great with FFXIV too.

Neither of us were in the closed beta so this is our first exposure to the game.

-cliff
 Lakshmi.Jaerik
Administrator
Offline
Server: Lakshmi
Game: FFXI
user: Jaerik
Posts: 3834
By Lakshmi.Jaerik 2010-09-07 12:21:36
Link | Quote | Reply
 
I also noticed that when the Receive ping gets high and/or the connection icon goes yellow or red, your character begins to lag on movement commands -- even continuous movement -- and jerks around a bit.

This is actually a good thing, in a way. (Minus the lag in the first place, which is pretty brutal.) It implies that character position is done on the server side and not the client, so hopefully FF14 won't be flooded with teleport hacks again.
 Odin.Luthe
Offline
Server: Odin
Game: FFXI
user: utoxin
Posts: 7
By Odin.Luthe 2010-09-07 12:22:15
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Cliff said:
Odin.Luthe said:
What I want to know, is when will Cliff release a pseudo-fullscreen mode for XIV? I really really want it. :)

I'd wait for Azaril to pull himself away from his girlfriend and/or work to do it. He put together a really great windower for windower 4.0, and I'm sure it would work great with FFXIV too.

Neither of us were in the closed beta so this is our first exposure to the game.

-cliff

Awesome. As long as there's at least a plan to investigate doing it, I'm happy. LOVE the XI windower. It makes playing on a computer bearable. :)
First Page 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Log in to post.