users online
Forum » FFXI » General » Windows 11
Windows 11
 Shiva.Liam
Server: Shiva
Game: FFXI
By Shiva.Liam 2023-09-03 14:03:09
Link | Quote | Reply

I have had the game installed on whatever pc/os I have owned since release, and this is my first time installing under windows 11, and the first time I've ever seen this issue. it is a new machine, so *could* be a hardware issue. but wanted to see if anyone else had experienced this.
 Shiva.Liam
By Shiva.Liam 2023-09-03 14:04:14
Link | Quote | Reply

Melucine said: »
Long shot but maybe it's a DPI setting? Or add the game to nvidia settings (if you have a nvidia card).

I'm on Windows 10 right now but building a new rig in the next 1-2 weeks and will go for Windows 11 on that one. But when I was on 11, I can't say I had the issues you're describing.

thanks i'll give that a try!
 Shiva.Devastation
By Shiva.Devastation 2023-09-03 18:48:48
Link | Quote | Reply

Sounds like a power mode were the game changes from iGPU to the actual gpu. Once that is set up, you can drop the d8x9 ddl to remove that flickering as well. It was on one of the guides for D9/D10. Easy method was the dll one. ' ReShade d3d8to9 '

https://www.bg-wiki.com/ffxi/Graphics_Enhancement_Guide
[+]
 Shiva.Liam
By Shiva.Liam 2023-09-03 20:15:39
Link | Quote | Reply

Thanks for this, appreciate the responses. I had missed this bgwiki page. in the process of trying the alt dgvoodoo versions now. can't tell if any of these are actually doing anything to POL though, or whether things only kick in once the game loads?

recorded an example here. (apologies for not starting with this :D)it seems to be something with the buttons/menus loading, as the flicking stops on each page once all menu items have loaded, and once they are in memory, you can go back and forth and it wont flicker the 2nd time. odd huh?

Fenrir.Jinxs
Server: Fenrir
user: Jinxs
By Fenrir.Jinxs 2023-09-03 20:45:24
Link | Quote | Reply

That is a smooth recording.