Screenshots No Longer Saving

Language: JP EN DE FR
New Items
2023-11-19
users online
Forum » Windower » Support » Screenshots No Longer Saving
Screenshots No Longer Saving
First Page 2
 Lakshmi.Elennar
Offline
Server: Lakshmi
Game: FFXI
user: ashaara
Posts: 1
By Lakshmi.Elennar 2021-05-01 20:11:29
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Even though Windower says it has saved my screenshot, when I look in the screenshots folder there hasn't been a screenshot saved since March 16, 2021. Sorry it took me so long to notice this!
 
Offline
Posts:
By 2021-05-02 04:30:54
 Undelete | Edit  | Link | Quote | Reply
 
Post deleted by User.
Offline
By Draylo 2021-05-02 04:39:51
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Pretty sure its a problem with DGvoodoo app if you're using it to enhance your game graphics. Ive had the problem for ages and asked multiple times, doesn't seem to be a known fix. The only way I can get it to stop is logging all the way out and then back in and sometimes the instance of the game is able to take screenshots again randomly.
 
Offline
Posts:
By 2021-05-02 04:46:19
 Undelete | Edit  | Link | Quote | Reply
 
Post deleted by User.
Offline
Posts: 8846
By SimonSes 2021-05-02 05:29:37
Link | Quote | Reply
 
I don't have dgvoodoo and have this problem too
Offline
By Draylo 2021-05-02 21:00:25
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Use your big brain SimonSes, we need a solution
Offline
Posts: 3927
By RadialArcana 2021-05-03 02:27:25
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Are you all using windows 10?

Could be a permissions problem, where it's not allowed to write the file to that folder.
Offline
By Draylo 2021-05-03 03:34:04
Link | Quote | Reply
 
I'm on windows 10 home. If that was the case it would never work, no? It does work sometimes, when I log out and back on to change instance of the game.
Offline
Posts: 1600
By Ruaumoko 2021-05-03 03:49:44
Link | Quote | Reply
 
I ended up using Snip & Sketch to get around it.
Offline
Posts: 3927
By RadialArcana 2021-05-03 04:16:56
Link | Quote | Reply
 
My screenshots always save, I don't use DGVoodoo or windows 10.

Also possible it's saving them in some other random folder or something, do a computer search for "img_".

Also, unrelated but wtf at your sales history.

ok wtf this is annoying me more than the picture thing now, whats going on here.



There are masses of characters all buying these and many other scroll from each other over and over?
Offline
By Draylo 2021-05-03 05:00:40
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Searched entire PC, even though it says its created, the file nowhere to be found.
Offline
Posts: 3927
By RadialArcana 2021-05-03 07:44:29
Link | Quote | Reply
 
https://www.ffxiah.com/forum/topic/18495/windower-and-screenshot-broken/
 Cpu
Offline
Posts: 248
By Cpu 2021-05-03 08:18:28
Link | Quote | Reply
 
RadialArcana said: »
My screenshots always save, I don't use DGVoodoo or windows 10.

Also possible it's saving them in some other random folder or something, do a computer search for "img_".

Also, unrelated but wtf at your sales history.

ok wtf this is annoying me more than the picture thing now, whats going on here.



There are masses of characters all buying these and many other scroll from each other over and over?
It could be an issue with the AuctionHelper plugin and Guildwork. If I had 2+ characters attempt to bid on something at the same time it would report it to ffxiah like I had 30+ winning bids in a row, even if there was only one item available for sale at the time. It indicates an issue with the buyer's client, not the seller's.
Offline
By Draylo 2021-05-03 09:20:35
Link | Quote | Reply
 

Decade old thread and has 0 relevant information or solutions
 Asura.Geriond
Offline
Server: Asura
Game: FFXI
user: Gerion
Posts: 3184
By Asura.Geriond 2021-05-03 12:15:40
Link | Quote | Reply
 
You can work around it by playing in maximized window mode (instead of true fullscreen), then clicking somewhere outside of the FFXI window (such as on the Taskbar), which will make your computer use the Windows Printscreen function instead of the Windower Printscreen function.
Offline
Posts: 3927
By RadialArcana 2021-05-03 13:16:31
Link | Quote | Reply
 
What file format does it say when you press the print screen button? mine are .png

It's working perfectly for me so it's not a standard bug with windower or anything.
Offline
Posts: 83
By Andromida 2021-05-03 13:51:54
Link | Quote | Reply
 
what happens if you use the command "//screenshot jpg"? Sometimes that will work for me when the game doesn't screenshot properly for me. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't.
 Lakshmi.Cesil
Offline
Server: Lakshmi
Game: FFXI
user: Valkyrie
Posts: 557
By Lakshmi.Cesil 2021-05-03 15:50:11
Link | Quote | Reply
 
When this happened to me, I hit the windows key plus print screen and it puts a screenshot in my Pictures > Screenshot folder. It's not the best but it worked for me.
Offline
Posts: 3927
By RadialArcana 2021-05-03 15:59:25
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Maybe it's linked to full screen, I'm on borderless and works fine.
Offline
By Draylo 2021-05-03 19:08:42
Link | Quote | Reply
 
I'm on borderless too, and when I take a pic it says .jpg.
Offline
By Draylo 2021-05-06 15:27:06
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Never a solution found! The threads just die, cmon big brains and solve this
 Valefor.Prothescar
Guide Master
Offline
Server: Valefor
Game: FFXI
Posts: 19363
By Valefor.Prothescar 2021-05-06 15:31:00
Link | Quote | Reply
 
I can't tell you a solution for the actual problem but I can tell you that WindowsKey + Shift + S is the best hot key in windows.
Offline
Posts: 3927
By RadialArcana 2021-05-06 15:49:42
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Draylo said: »
I'm on borderless too, and when I take a pic it says .jpg.

check init.txt

If it says "bind sysrq screenshot jpg hide" try change to "bind sysrq screenshot png hide"
 Asura.Eliara
Offline
Server: Asura
Game: FFXI
user: Endrew
Posts: 3
By Asura.Eliara 2021-05-06 16:23:13
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Check your game directory. When I installed dgvoodoo it started saving all my screen shots there. I believe it was in the same folder where the ffxi executable was but I'm not currently at my gaming machine to check.
Offline
By Draylo 2021-05-06 17:02:59
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Asura.Eliara said: »
Check your game directory. When I installed dgvoodoo it started saving all my screen shots there. I believe it was in the same folder where the ffxi executable was but I'm not currently at my gaming machine to check.

Checked, not there. Did a full scan of my PC for the corresponding IMG number and not found anywhere. Windower says its SAVING screenshot and it is not doing it, so either its a windower issue or something is going on.

Just a few posts back someone mentioned they do NOT use dgvoodoo and still have the same issues, so its not exclusive to people who use it.
Offline
By Draylo 2021-05-06 17:03:09
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Maybe a windower DEV can chime in
 Asura.Eliara
Offline
Server: Asura
Game: FFXI
user: Endrew
Posts: 3
By Asura.Eliara 2021-05-06 19:35:39
Link | Quote | Reply
 
I know you said you didn't find them when you ran a search, but just in case it can help anyone else here's where mine started saving.

C:\Program Files (x86)\PlayOnline\SquareEnix\PlayOnlineViewer

Also the file name format is something like

pol 2020-06-07 12-26-47.png
 Fenrir.Niflheim
VIP
Offline
Server: Fenrir
Game: FFXI
user: Tesahade
Posts: 440
By Fenrir.Niflheim 2021-05-07 08:52:59
Link | Quote | Reply
 
This has come up in our support discord every once in while, but no resolution has been 1 size fits all. You have mentioned some of the fixes like trying other image formats, pointing out the issues with dgvoodoo and how it brakes the function, and also permission issues that can prevent the file from being saved.

One i didnt see is, you can try using SSOrganizer to see if that helps, if you find that SSOrganizer creates the folder but it is empty then that likely means the file was not actually created.
 Ragnarok.Martel
Offline
Server: Ragnarok
Game: FFXI
Posts: 2899
By Ragnarok.Martel 2021-05-07 13:03:18
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Fenrir.Niflheim said: »
This has come up in our support discord every once in while, but no resolution has been 1 size fits all. You have mentioned some of the fixes like trying other image formats, pointing out the issues with dgvoodoo and how it brakes the function, and also permission issues that can prevent the file from being saved.

One i didnt see is, you can try using SSOrganizer to see if that helps, if you find that SSOrganizer creates the folder but it is empty then that likely means the file was not actually created.
Tried SSOrganizer just for the hell of it. It created the folder structure when I tried a screenshot, but did not save an image. I'm never getting this ***fixed. /sigh
[+]
First Page 2
Log in to post.