Real Talk, I Need Some Advice.

Language: JP EN DE FR
New Items
2023-11-19
users online
Forum » FFXI » General » Real talk, I need some advice.
Real talk, I need some advice.
First Page 2 3 4
By gistofanything 2019-04-03 18:37:41
Link | Quote | Reply

So I've been playing for a couple of years now as a career BRD, and one thing that I've noticed is that anything I seem to do just isn't good enough. It's difficult to really pin my thoughts down into words on how I'm feeling, but I'm mostly just looking up this impossible to climb mountain of HMP in order to even be as relevant as 90% of alts on Asura. I've tried picking up other jobs to try and maybe facilitate gearing my main job, but even that seems like a herculean feat. Truly, I have no clue where I'm supposed to be or how I'm supposed to try and progress, what contents would be good, what jobs I should learn, etc. I have all jobs leveled and a good hodgepodge of gear from my various shenanigans over the years... but I don't know how to apply it. I'm missing a lot of the basics, but they're a bit difficult to identify and research in my experience.

Tl;dr - I need (serious) advice on wtf I'm supposed to be doing to get better at the game and better gear in general. Definitely feel like I'm trying to climb an impossible slope.
 Cerberus.Senkyuutai
Server: Cerberus
Game: FFXI
user: Yuffy
By Cerberus.Senkyuutai 2019-04-03 19:04:10
Link | Quote | Reply

First and foremost, you need to find a group of people you enjoy playing with in general.
If you log with nobody to play with, you're already setting yourself up for failure.

You need to pick a job. BRD or any other, but you need to pick one. Once this is done, you need to see what is your next gear step for each slot.
Once this is done, you need to tackle this, step by step. Do not set yourself short/mid/long term goals that are fancy, you're bound to be disappointed if you do so because you won't reach them. Keep them simple.