Send And Weaponskills

Language: JP EN DE FR
New Items
2023-11-19
users online
Forum » Windower » Support » Send and Weaponskills
Send and Weaponskills
 Phoenix.Evolved
Offline
Server: Phoenix
Game: FFXI
user: Special1
Posts: 67
By Phoenix.Evolved 2023-08-02 15:22:50
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Hey all

So not sure if this is a problem with Send itself or the script macro ability in windower.

When I am in my client and I use:
/console send <muleusername> /ws 'Tachi: Jinpu' <t>
it works perfectly, as well as in a macro.

However, when I use a windower script macro and have this:
Code
input /echo >> WS Set 1 All characters <<
pause 1;

input /echo <charname> Shadow of Death
/console send <charname> /ws 'Tachi: Jinpu' <t>
pause 1;

input /echo <charname> Energy Drain
/ws 'Energy Drain' <t>
pause 1;

input /echo <charname> Raiden Thrust
/console send <charname> /ws 'Raiden Thrust' <t>
pause 1;

input /echo <charname> Seraph Strike
/console send <charname> /ws 'Seraph Strike' <t>
pause .5;

input /echo <charname> Blade: Ei
/console send <charname> /ws 'Blade: Ei' <t>
pause .5;

input /echo <charname> Earthcrusher
/console send <charname> /ws 'Earthcrusher' <t>

it doesn't work at all. Can you guys see something I am missing?

I'm trying to have the ultimate aby proc party, where I can just play one of my team of 6, and then hit one macro to have them all WS the aby proc WS. It works in a regular macro but not a windower script.
Offline
Posts: 334
By Meeble 2023-08-02 15:36:50
Link | Quote | Reply
 
You wouldn't use /console in in a script, if you remove that and just use send <whatever> it should work.

Ex:
Code
input /echo <charname> Seraph Strike
send <charname> /ws 'Seraph Strike' <t>
pause .5;


You're also missing an input on line 9.
 Phoenix.Evolved
Offline
Server: Phoenix
Game: FFXI
user: Special1
Posts: 67
By Phoenix.Evolved 2023-08-02 15:58:04
Link | Quote | Reply
 
The more you know, ty!
Offline
Posts: 334
By Meeble 2023-08-03 08:27:44
Link | Quote | Reply
 
If it helps to keep things straight, /console (or /con, //) basically tells the game client "this isn't for you, pass the rest of this line to the windower console". You'd use /con in game macros, too.

input is a console command that's basically the opposite equivalent, meaning "pass this to the game like a vanilla command". Scripts run in the console so they work the same way.


When you use the Send addon, it will try to figure out whether your message is a game command or a console one, but it doesn't always work correctly, especially if what you're trying to send has quotes. The Shortcuts addon or custom aliases are a good workaround for that.
Code
-- If you have something like this in your init.txt for the receiving character:
alias jinpu input /ws "Tachi: Jinpu" <t>

-- Then this will work:
send <charname> jinpu

-- The shortcuts addon makes most commands work like this out of the box, with targeting too.
Offline
Posts: 1109
By DaneBlood 2023-08-03 11:12:24
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Meeble said: »
You wouldn't use /console in in a script, if you remove that and just use send <whatever> it should work.

Ex:
Code
input /echo <charname> Seraph Strike
send <charname> /ws 'Seraph Strike' <t>
pause .5;


You're also missing an input on line 9.


yup scripts already "runs in console" that why you use /con in the game to redirect what you type into the console

and vice versa in the console (so also in scripts) you use /input to redirecte into the game chat input field
 Fenrir.Niflheim
VIP
Offline
Server: Fenrir
Game: FFXI
user: Tesahade
Posts: 442
By Fenrir.Niflheim 2023-08-03 11:27:14
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Meeble said: »
You wouldn't use /console in in a script, if you remove that and just use send <whatever> it should work.

Ex:
Code
input /echo <charname> Seraph Strike
send <charname> /ws 'Seraph Strike' <t>
pause .5;


You're also missing an input on line 9.

We have an image to help explain that
[+]
 Fenrir.Jinxs
Offline
Server: Fenrir
Game: FFXI
user: Jinxs
Posts: 535
By Fenrir.Jinxs 2023-08-03 11:35:34
Link | Quote | Reply
 
This image actually makes it worse.
I feel like I had a firm grasp on the usage, but now looking at this I am now dumber.
Log in to post.