Intermittent Outdoor Black Screen On Zone

Language: JP EN DE FR
New Items
2019-03-13
users online
Forum » Windower » Support » Intermittent Outdoor Black Screen on Zone
Intermittent Outdoor Black Screen on Zone
 Asura.Wyldfyre
Offline
Server: Asura
Game: FFXI
user: WyldFyre
Posts: 25
By Asura.Wyldfyre 2019-05-10 14:51:34
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Sometimes I'll get a black screen (no landscape/background appear, only other characters, monsters, npcs, mounts, the home point, and other things that can be interacted with show up) whenever I warp/hp to an outdoor (non-dungeon) area. I can take the homepoint back to town (sometimes town is black screened, sometimes not), but returning to the outdoor area (even via Nexus cape) brings back the black screen.

At first, I thought this was a dual box issue, so I shut down my 2nd account... but the problem persisted even with a single instance running.

Also, I'm not the only one experiencing this problem. I was advised to shutdown and restart POL when I mentioned what happened in /ls by a mate that also runs into this, and I've heard a couple more mention thinking about switching to Ashita because of it.

Edit to add: Windows 10 w/ dual monitors. I keep Google Chrome and Discord up in the second monitor

Edit Two: Black screens also occur when simply zoning from the neighboring area. It is not limited to "warps".
Offline
Posts: 290
By kireek 2019-05-10 15:09:48
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Are you using any of Amelilas mods?
 Asura.Wyldfyre
Offline
Server: Asura
Game: FFXI
user: WyldFyre
Posts: 25
By Asura.Wyldfyre 2019-05-10 15:27:22
Link | Quote | Reply
 
idk what those are, but all I'm using with Windower are add-ons & plug-ins that shipped with the package (none by an Amelilas).

Edit: Googled it... no, I'm not using any 3rd party graphics overhaul - or for clarification, I'm not using any other third party products except for Windower & its officially supported add-ons/plug-ins.
Offline
Posts: 231
By aisukage 2019-05-10 15:31:42
Link | Quote | Reply
 
I've had this happen to me but not in awhile. Use to happen occasionally. Didn't use any mods or anything like that myself. Never figured out why it was happening but luckily for me it stopped and haven't happened since.

I know others it has happened to aswell so it's not just you but unfortunately i can't help fix the issue. All i know is when it happens you have to completely reboot the game.
[+]
Offline
Posts: 7
By Meeble 2019-05-10 16:13:46
Link | Quote | Reply
 
I've had this happen twice with Windows 10, separate characters. I can't point to a cause with certainty, but I suspect it's an OS memory issue. In both cases it happened after about a week's worth of playtime and heavy browser use, with a few addons showing memory errors the second time.

I started rebooting every other day or so and haven't had it occur again since.
[+]
 Bahamut.Inspectorgadget
Offline
Server: Bahamut
Game: FFXI
Posts: 101
By Bahamut.Inspectorgadget 2019-05-10 17:02:14
Link | Quote | Reply
 
It happens to me whenever I zone out from either Reisenjima or Dynamis Divergence areas after being in those zones for a period of time.
[+]
 Asura.Wyldfyre
Offline
Server: Asura
Game: FFXI
user: WyldFyre
Posts: 25
By Asura.Wyldfyre 2019-05-11 11:15:19
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Meeble said: »
I've had this happen twice with Windows 10, separate characters. I can't point to a cause with certainty, but I suspect it's an OS memory issue. In both cases it happened after about a week's worth of playtime and heavy browser use, with a few addons showing memory errors the second time.

I started rebooting every other day or so and haven't had it occur again since.
Thanks for the opinion. I'm running one char on Windower & one on Ashita. If it never happens on Ashita, I don't think it's an OS/memory issue.

We'll see.
Offline
Posts: 138
By Caerda 2019-05-11 13:04:06
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Disable "/find all", this has been a cause of this issue for many months.
 Asura.Wyldfyre
Offline
Server: Asura
Game: FFXI
user: WyldFyre
Posts: 25
By Asura.Wyldfyre 2019-05-11 21:31:45
Link | Quote | Reply
 
This glitch has nothing to do with using the browser or needing to restart the pc.

I restarted my PC today, didn't use any browser at all, and after 3 hours of playing, I got black screened again. =/
 Hades.Kgb
Offline
Server: Hades
Game: FFXI
Posts: 6
By Hades.Kgb 2019-05-12 19:37:51
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Had a similar issue. I unloaded guildworks and it resolved it for me. Do you have guildworks plugin loaded?
 Asura.Wyldfyre
Offline
Server: Asura
Game: FFXI
user: WyldFyre
Posts: 25
By Asura.Wyldfyre 2019-05-12 23:00:27
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Hades.Kgb said: »
Had a similar issue. I unloaded guildworks and it resolved it for me. Do you have guildworks plugin loaded?

Nope, but I'm thinking that the problem might be resolved. I unloaded the in-game minimap plugin and it hasn't happened in the few hours I was able to play it whereas it was happening frequently before I did that.

Update Edit: The minimap seems to have been the culprit. I can live without it.

Update Edit Redux: Spoke too soon... just got another black screen. *sob*
 Asura.Wyldfyre
Offline
Server: Asura
Game: FFXI
user: WyldFyre
Posts: 25
By Asura.Wyldfyre 2019-05-20 03:12:31
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Continuing to have problems with this, so I uninstalled FFXI, redownloaded & installed a fresh copy.

Spent hours playing on just the base game (no Windower). Never got a black screen or had the game crash.

In less than an hour of logging out and firing up Windower, it crashed & black screened.

Thought it might be Win 10's shitty UAC, so I made myself the owner of the hard drive & enabled write permissions, but that didn't fix the problem, either.
Offline
Posts: 290
By kireek 2019-05-20 03:46:24
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Have you disabled all plugins?

I've never noticed this on windows 7 and I use all manner of mods too.
Offline
Posts: 498
By DaneBlood 2019-05-20 07:15:35
Link | Quote | Reply
 
had this happens once a few months back. when zoning into DynaD bastok.
Had to relog to be able to move at all.

was tripleboxing at the time
 Asura.Wyldfyre
Offline
Server: Asura
Game: FFXI
user: WyldFyre
Posts: 25
By Asura.Wyldfyre 2019-05-23 01:56:20
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Got it narrowed down to 1 (or more) of the following add-ons via disabling add-ons by batches:

Silence
Target Info
TH Tracker
Treasure Pool

I've been playing without any issues whatsoever (aside from the occasional random lua error, but whatevs) for the past 48 hours. No crashes, no black screen, nothing.

Edit: Crashes are back, they occur any time I'm in a busy zone with lots of animations. It's a windower issue, because vanilla XI doesn't crash in identical circumstances, then I log into Windower and it crashes almost immediately.

Starting to think Windower doesn't play nice with multi-monitor setups.
Log in to post.