Which Runes To Use? Gathering Info.

Language: JP EN DE FR
New Items
2023-11-19
users online
Forum » FFXI » Jobs » Rune Fencer » Which Runes To Use? Gathering Info.
Which Runes To Use? Gathering Info.
First Page 2
 Cerberus.Kylos
Server: Cerberus
Game: FFXI
user: Kylos
By Cerberus.Kylos 2018-11-16 15:05:57
Link | Quote | Reply

Hi guys, I'm new to Rune Fencer so I've been researching enemies to find out which Runes I should be using. However, there's so many enemies it's impossible to retain all the information without putting it all in to one place. This is an attempt to gather all the best Runes for every given situation based from logical sense and other's experiences. The "Rune Fencer Quiz" served as inspiration for this.

I'd like to do this in three stages:

1) Which Rune Do I Use If I Want To Resist "Status Effect"?
2) Which Rune Do I Use If I Want To Lower Damage Of A Monster Family?
3) Which Runes Do I Use In Special, Endgame Fights Which Differ From Those Listed In 2?

Already started with #1, but I'm sure there's some status effects missing. Would be grateful if you can add any that are. #1 is taken mostly from FFXIcyclopedia's answers to the RUN quiz.

1) Status Effects

"Virtuoso" is the element the monster uses, so it gives you protection to said element.

"Stomach" is the element the monster cannot stomach, so it gives you the element to weaken it.

RUNE----- Virtuoso----- Stomach----- Status Effects
---- ---- ---- ----
Ignis Ice Fire Paralyze, Bind, Frost, Eva Down, AGI Down
Gelus Wind Ice Silence, Gravity, Choke, Def Down, VIT Down
Flabra Earth Wind Slow, Petrify, Rasp, Acc Down, DEX Down
Telus Thunder Earth Stun, Shock, MND Down
Sulpor Water Thunder Poison, Drown, STR Down, Atk Down, M. Def Down*
Unda Fire Water Addle, Amnesia, Virus, Burn, Nocturne, MAB down, INT Down
Lux Dark Light Blind, Bio, Sleep, Dispel, Geist Wall, Drain, Curse, Doom, Zombie, M. Eva Down, HP Down, MP Down, CHR Down, Absorbs