How To Change A Sound Effect Within A .DAT?

Language: JP EN DE FR
New Items
2023-11-19
users online
Forum » FFXI » Dat Modding » How to change a sound effect within a .DAT?
How to change a sound effect within a .DAT?
 Asura.Vyrren
Server: Asura
Game: FFXI
user: lemonbird
By Asura.Vyrren 2021-11-09 09:29:51
Link | Quote | Reply

Long story short I've been hearing the same bard songs since 2003 and want to see if I can edit the harp/flute into new sound clips-

However instead of being a song file of their own they're packaged within the visual effect for the song casting/animations.

Any idea how I'd go about this?
By RadialArcana 2021-11-09 10:23:55
Link | Quote | Reply

The main problem is having a replacement song of a similar length.
By Upbeat 2021-11-09 16:13:23
Link | Quote | Reply

Been at this for over an hour.

First test was to see if I could edit audio with ChangeTex.
Nope

Second was to see if I could find another program like ChangeTex for audio
Nope

Third was to open and edit a dat’s sound with Audacity
No luck, can not find the right import setting(all I hear is a screetch)

It is possible to add any existing noise from a spell or ja and switch them out with some simple hex editing. So you could switch song A to sound like song X while keeping the song A animation. Probably not what you want to hear lol. Gave it a try. Good luck.

Edit: After closer inspection the hex edit changes the animation too not just audio. So much for that idea. So the hex edit is about as cool as just a regular dat swap.
 Asura.Aeonova
user: aeonova
By Asura.Aeonova 2021-11-09 16:39:20
Link | Quote | Reply

This thread will probably be able to help.
https://www.ffxiah.com/forum/topic/36090/click-click-click/

This post in particular:
Valefor.Esdain said: »
I used AltanaView to find where the sound files were located. (I could have just clicked around in the POL folder. It's pretty obvious where they're stored).