Typing In Japanese?

Language: JP EN DE FR
New Items
2019-10-10
users online
Forum » Windower » Support » Typing in Japanese?
Typing in Japanese?
Offline
By NiroAL 2019-02-15 07:37:11
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Hi everyone!

I'm living in Japan, and as such often am only on at times that Japanese players are. Thus, I'd love to be able to type in Japanese to join parties and stuff.

I remember a long time ago that IME was a thing, but apparently it's broken now. Is there an alternative?

I tried downloading the Japanese client and that worked specifically for typing Japanese, but all my other addons, especially Treasury, started acting wonky.

Thanks!
 Phoenix.Dabackpack
MSPaint Winner
Offline
Server: Phoenix
Game: FFXI
Posts: 1745
By Phoenix.Dabackpack 2019-02-15 08:00:21
Link | Quote | Reply
 
I've had trouble using the IME in Windower too. It works perfectly for me in Ashita though.
Offline
Posts: 637
By Senaki 2019-02-15 09:47:05
Link | Quote | Reply
 
IME is kinda stupid in how it works on FFXI. Unless you download the Japanese FFXI client, you cannot directly type in Japanese in-game. What you can do, however, is using widower, use IMF to type into a Word document -> copy/paste text into FFXI. If anyone knows of a better method than this, I'm all ears. But this is what I found to work atm.
 Phoenix.Dabackpack
MSPaint Winner
Offline
Server: Phoenix
Game: FFXI
Posts: 1745
By Phoenix.Dabackpack 2019-02-15 10:36:59
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Senaki said: »
IME is kinda stupid in how it works on FFXI. Unless you download the Japanese FFXI client, you cannot directly type in Japanese in-game. What you can do, however, is using widower, use IMF to type into a Word document -> copy/paste text into FFXI. If anyone knows of a better method than this, I'm all ears. But this is what I found to work atm.

Ashita lets you type directly into the chat terminal and even lets you autocomplete common expressions like a real IME.

If it helps any, I use Google's IME as default.
 Quetzalcoatl.Xilkk
Offline
Server: Quetzalcoatl
Game: FFXI
user: Xilk
Posts: 783
By Quetzalcoatl.Xilkk 2019-02-15 12:40:31
Link | Quote | Reply
 
I haven't used it for years. But I know it worked alright with windower 3
 Fenrir.Niflheim
Offline
Server: Fenrir
Game: FFXI
user: Tesahade
Posts: 101
By Fenrir.Niflheim 2019-02-15 12:43:36
Link | Quote | Reply
 
There we're issues with Windower4's IME, but they were corrected recently iirc
Offline
Server: Excalibur
Game: FFXIV
user: misacat
Posts: 2972
By Nadleeh Sakurai 2019-02-15 13:34:48
Link | Quote | Reply
 


<couldnt find a "types in japanese" response pic with out making one, so you get this> :D
/not useful
Offline
Posts: 434
By kishr 2019-02-15 14:36:20
Link | Quote | Reply
 
On En client I havnt found a way and gave up even though I use it.
Jp client is only choice to type in jp.
Log in to post.