Language: JP EN DE FR
New Items
2023-11-19
users online
Forum » FFXI » General » Solo jobs/good jobs for returning players
Solo jobs/good jobs for returning players
By Fribbit 2018-12-29 18:15:52
Link | Quote | Reply

Apologies for another one of these as I'm sure there have been a bunch, but please bear with me...

I have been playing off and on for many years now. I returned for another go around recently and my job schedule does not really allow me much time to play and when I do have time it isn't during very optimal US hours.

On top of that, I enjoy the challenge of soloing content. I understand not all content is soloable, and I'm totally fine with grouping up when necessary, but given everything, I am looking for jobs that can solo and gear up relatively effectively without much help from other real players.

I have scoured the BGwiki and FFXIclopedia and several guides for different jobs and gear progression and I just find myself getting a bit overwhelmed and just a bit unsure of what jobs can effectively solo content for gear upgrades. There are some obvious first steps I know I can take - like finishing all the mission lines to unlock my fifth trust - to increase my ability to solo among other things.

Overall, I have read that BST, SMN, PUP, SCH, RDM, BLU(I think) and RUN are the most capable solo jobs. I have THF, COR and PUP at 99 and all of them(at least to the best of my memory) are in basic iLvl 119 gear(Homestead weapons and Bayld gear with a few Alluivion Skirmish pieces mixed in here and there). I enjoy PUP, but I know it is a very gear-dependent and knowledge and skill-based job to play especially when soloing, so I am not sure if I want to jump into it as my first job to gear up.