Windower Download Problem

Language: JP EN DE FR
New Items
2018-08-14
users online
Forum » Windower » Support » Windower download problem
Windower download problem
 Asura.Topace
Offline
Server: Asura
Game: FFXI
user: Topace
Posts: 308
By Asura.Topace 2018-07-26 10:23:41
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Downloaded windower on a different laptop to duel box but when it downloaded it didn't create a folder for it in my program files or do the setup bit like i remember before. All the addon/plugin files went to the download section for some reason.
By Jetackuu 2018-07-26 10:39:52
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Looks like they switched from an installer to somesort of portable version. I would recommend to inquire if this is normal behavior on their discord.

https://discord.gg/v6pk6uy
 Sylph.Talym
VIP
Offline
Server: Sylph
Game: FFXI
user: Talym
Posts: 62
By Sylph.Talym 2018-07-26 13:21:48
Link | Quote | Reply
 
The v4 installer was horrendously outdated, so we got rid of it.

Just download windower.exe, place it wherever you'd like it to live, and it'll create any subfolders and data files that it needs in that location.

I usually just put it in like C:\Windower4 or something of the sort.
[+]
 Cerberus.Dierdren
Offline
Server: Cerberus
Game: FFXI
user: Dierdren
Posts: 78
By Cerberus.Dierdren 2018-07-28 15:38:47
Link | Quote | Reply
 
I'm also having a problem getting Windower to work. I downloaded the program and tried to launch it and it crashes every time. Any help would be appreciated.

(I've also tried running it as an administrator)
Online
Posts: 11961
By Candlejack 2018-07-28 15:48:58
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Cerberus.Dierdren said: »
I'm also having a problem getting Windower to work. I downloaded the program and tried to launch it and it crashes every time. Any help would be appreciated.

(I've also tried running it as an administrator)
See Talym's post, one above yours.
 Cerberus.Dierdren
Offline
Server: Cerberus
Game: FFXI
user: Dierdren
Posts: 78
By Cerberus.Dierdren 2018-07-28 16:31:53
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Where would I get the Windower.exe file? I've looked for it.
Online
Posts: 11961
By Candlejack 2018-07-28 17:09:13
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Cerberus.Dierdren said: »
Where would I get the Windower.exe file? I've looked for it.
Go to Windower -> News. It's the top pinned thread, for the latest alpha version 5.0 build. If you're instead looking for the stable Beta 4.3 build release, check here: Windower 4.3 build
It should show up only as Windower.exe, just move it out of the downloads file to wherever you want it to be found in your files, run it, and when you access windower, it should add any sub-folders and anything else it requires to run on it's own. I'd suggest creating a special folder in your C: drive and naming it "Windower", and dropping the .exe in there before running to install it. Bear in mind, some versions of Windows 10, such as the Creator's Update, have been known to mess with Windower.
By Jetackuu 2018-07-29 10:23:35
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Also your a/v may mess with it, also you may want to verify that wherever you put it you have permission to read/write to that location, aka check folder permissions :P
Log in to post.