F13 To F24

Language: JP EN DE FR
New Items
2018-04-04
105 users online
Forum » Windower » General » F13 to F24
F13 to F24
Online
Posts: 65
By DaneBlood 2018-03-07 07:31:30
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Is there any way to get Windows to accept F13 to F24 as keys?
trying to bind to let's say ctrl-F13 aka ^F13 results in an error
Offline
Posts: 410
By Nyarlko 2018-03-07 10:26:00
Link | Quote | Reply
 
DaneBlood said: »
Is there any way to get Windows to accept F13 to F24 as keys?
trying to bind to let's say ctrl-F13 aka ^F13 results in an error

If you have a fancy enough keyboard to have all those extra keys, odds are it came with software that allows you to pre-program keybindings by application. Try using that?

I've heard of a Windower addon that can also do it specifically for FFXI, but also that it requires keyboard model specific profiles so if yours is not on the list then you are probably SOL with that. :x
[+]
Offline
Posts: 1147
By geigei 2018-03-07 10:59:17
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Make a script for the macro you want then record a macro to Fkey.
 Asura.Chiaia
Offline
Server: Asura
Game: FFXI
user: Demmis
Posts: 798
By Asura.Chiaia 2018-03-07 13:48:22
Link | Quote | Reply
 
DaneBlood said: »
Is there any way to get Windows to accept F13 to F24 as keys?
trying to bind to let's say ctrl-F13 aka ^F13 results in an error
no, i had lengthy talks with devs like 2 years ago and there is only support for f1-f12 we also found out iirc directx was only made with support upto f17 or f18 anyway.

supported keys: http://docs.windower.net/commands/keymapping/

any reason you wanted f13-f24? i had a spec reason when i asked have found other ways and they also increased mod keys since
Online
Posts: 65
By DaneBlood 2018-03-13 07:13:55
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Nyarlko said: »
DaneBlood said: »
Is there any way to get Windows to accept F13 to F24 as keys?
trying to bind to let's say ctrl-F13 aka ^F13 results in an error

If you have a fancy enough keyboard to have all those extra keys, odds are it came with software that allows you to pre-program keybindings by application. Try using that?

I've heard of a Windower addon that can also do it specifically for FFXI, but also that it requires keyboard model specific profiles so if yours is not on the list then you are probably SOL with that. :x

The reason to use those key (Whatever I have it on my kb or not)
is to avoid having to use the physical keys
since those already are used for something else)
Online
Posts: 65
By DaneBlood 2018-03-13 07:15:56
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Asura.Chiaia said: »
DaneBlood said: »
Is there any way to get Windows to accept F13 to F24 as keys?
trying to bind to let's say ctrl-F13 aka ^F13 results in an error
no, i had lengthy talks with devs like 2 years ago and there is only support for f1-f12 we also found out iirc directx was only made with support upto f17 or f18 anyway.

supported keys: http://docs.windower.net/commands/keymapping/

any reason you wanted f13-f24? i had a spec reason when i asked have found other ways and they also increased mod keys since
I am mapping mouse buttons to functions in the game.
mapping them to physsical keys means i will lose the functionality of that since now that key can only do one function.

Using f13 to f24 that is never used for anything just resolves any possible conflicts
necroskull Necro Bump Detected! [85 days between previous and next post]
Offline
Posts: 234
By Elizabet 2018-06-05 22:21:24
Link | Quote | Reply
 

What determines this? Is it the way windower4 is coded? Windows stuff? DirectX8.1 limitations?
Log in to post.