IPC For Addons

Language: JP EN DE FR
New Items
2017-12-15
377 users online
Forum » Windower » Support » IPC for addons
IPC for addons
 Shiva.Malthar
Offline
Server: Shiva
Game: FFXI
user: Malthar
Posts: 311
By Shiva.Malthar 2017-06-19 12:30:48
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Is it possible to add IPC to included Windower addons?

For example: autocontrol only shows maneuvers for the player's pup. It would be nice to see maneuvers for your alts as well.

Same goes for timers. I'd love to see timers display for my other alts on my main screen.
 Fenrir.Snaps
Offline
Server: Fenrir
Game: FFXI
user: Mojopojo
Posts: 849
By Fenrir.Snaps 2017-06-19 12:37:57
Link | Quote | Reply
 
IPC allows add-ons across processes to communicate with each other. What you're asking for is possible although the add-on needs to be designed to utilize IPC in the first place. Is not that something you can just 'turn on.'
 Shiva.Malthar
Offline
Server: Shiva
Game: FFXI
user: Malthar
Posts: 311
By Shiva.Malthar 2017-06-24 08:12:46
Link | Quote | Reply
 
I said add, not turn on. I can customize the add-ons myself, but that doesn't help everyone else.
 Lakshmi.Byrth
VIP
Offline
Server: Lakshmi
Game: FFXI
user: Byrthnoth
Posts: 5410
By Lakshmi.Byrth 2017-06-24 09:11:56
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Windower addons are the only thing that use IPC. (ex. the Send addon)
 Shiva.Malthar
Offline
Server: Shiva
Game: FFXI
user: Malthar
Posts: 311
By Shiva.Malthar 2017-06-24 11:41:59
Link | Quote | Reply
 
How about adding ipc features, Byrth? It would really help out us multi-boxers seeing everything on one instance instead of switching instances. Especially now with that micro freezing when switching instances using programs like AHK. :-D
 Lakshmi.Byrth
VIP
Offline
Server: Lakshmi
Game: FFXI
user: Byrthnoth
Posts: 5410
By Lakshmi.Byrth 2017-06-24 11:45:31
Link | Quote | Reply
 
I have no intention of doing it for you.

Additionally, I will warn that IPC is responsible for the only crash to desktop that I experience at the moment (when I use it heavily.)
 Shiva.Malthar
Offline
Server: Shiva
Game: FFXI
user: Malthar
Posts: 311
By Shiva.Malthar 2017-06-24 11:46:29
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Yeah, I've noticed that when you send too many ipc messages it stops sending.

Would you do it for a Klondike bar?
Log in to post.