Forum » FFXI » General » Dancing Edge Question
Dancing Edge Question
 Asura.Malekith
Server: Asura
Game: FFXI
By Asura.Malekith 2009-02-02 13:49:22
Link | Quote | Reply

Given Modifiers: DEX:30% ; CHR:40%

I have around +40 DEX with food and gear and barely any CHR +mods and I always wind up doing more damage than SB or Evis which are straight up modded by DEX.

How do people go about gearing up? Is it worth it to really trick out with +CHR gear? I'm still relatively new to playing THF and DD'ing on it. I just wanted to ask my peers out there what they thought.

Really if anything, I was wondering if anyone knew a really goo thread on the topic. I'm already reading through BG right now, and am conflicted.
 Midgardsormr.Frobeus
Server: Midgardsormr
user: frobeus
By Midgardsormr.Frobeus 2009-02-02 13:58:56
Link | Quote | Reply

Mods on DE are not as important due to DE being a multi hit WS. As with any mulit hit, the mod only counts towards the first hit with the remainder of the hits being attack based. As with any melee and multi hit WS acc is the foremost concern, as landing all hits will do much more damage than missing one with all the mods in the world. After that, try to get as much attack as you can get in there w/o sacrificing acc. Dex is also a good stat where you can get it as well, due to DE having it as a mod and also SA's natural Dex boost. If you are maxing out those three stats already, I can't imagine there would be much room left for any chr+ gear.
 Asura.Yotevol
user: Yotevol
By Asura.Yotevol 2009-02-02 14:46:19
Link | Quote | Reply

As I have learned, it partially depends on the mob, TP and triple attack.

Evis and SB can't stack with triple attack, while DE can.

TP wise-
I have learned that if I have 100% TP and I can hit the mob easily, always use DE.
If I have 300% TP and I can't hit the mob easily, SB will do more.
I only use Evis for skillchains.

Mob wise:
DE is a slashing type WS with piercing weapons.