Yet Another Windower Problem.

Language: JP EN DE FR
New Items
2023-11-19
users online
Forum » Everything Else » Tech Support » Yet another windower problem.
Yet another windower problem.
 Pandemonium.Rathz
Offline
Server: Pandemonium
Game: FFXI
user: Rathz
Posts: 218
By Pandemonium.Rathz 2009-11-21 19:36:51
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Well, I decided to finally start making my windower macros. After some testing, I have found that I have no idea what i'm doing. I make a folder called "RDM" in the script folder, and in that I make a .txt document called "Buff". In it, I write /ma "Stoneskin" <me> just to test it. So in FFXI I type in the chat (To test, mind you again) //exec RDM/Buff.txt and nothing happens. Nothing appears in my console saying that something is wrong. Anyone know? :3
 Remora.Ninian
Offline
Server: Remora
Game: FFXI
user: Ninian
Posts: 1667
By Remora.Ninian 2009-11-21 19:43:19
Link | Quote | Reply
 
This is a better alternative to windower macros...
[+]
 Odin.Karusan
Offline
Server: Odin
Game: FFXI
user: Karusan
Posts: 828
By Odin.Karusan 2009-11-21 19:44:28
Link | Quote | Reply
 
input /ma "Stoneskin" <me>;

AKA RTFM

AAKA Wrong website
[+]
 Pandemonium.Rathz
Offline
Server: Pandemonium
Game: FFXI
user: Rathz
Posts: 218
By Pandemonium.Rathz 2009-11-21 19:48:10
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Eh, i've had better luck with getting help from this forum. Windower Forum has barely any people active on it that are there to help you.

Edit: The hell does RTFM mean?
 Garuda.Antipika
Offline
Server: Garuda
Game: FFXI
user: Antipika
Posts: 1339
By Garuda.Antipika 2009-11-21 19:58:36
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Read the *** manual.
 Kujata.Nanyo
Offline
Server: Kujata
Game: FFXI
user: Nanyo
Posts: 375
By Kujata.Nanyo 2009-11-21 20:14:25
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Sorry Don't really know the answer to that question(I Only use Windower macros for a few things, and most of the time it seems simple just "\input /ma Stoneskin Nanyo", well not that I use it for that, but still), but @.@ I think that the SE Macros are acctualy better for this one. This is what I do if you're interested

 Sylph.Otsego
Offline
Server: Sylph
Game: FFXI
Posts: 236
By Sylph.Otsego 2009-11-21 20:17:49
Link | Quote | Reply
 
I'm glad some people can figure out XML, because I'm at a loss on it. 6 different examples I have looked into, and I still cannot figure it out. Absolutely despise having to run 9 different scripts within windower just to play BLM, weather gear, resting, all that happy stuff. If you can figure out how to configure your XML and spellcast to run to your specifications, I applaud you. I know it isn't that difficult, but from what I've heard, once you get it up and running, there's no going back to scripts or that nasty 6 line ***SE gives us.
Edit: 12 scripts, stupid swap set, and my idle gear always slip my mind.
 Garuda.Antipika
Offline
Server: Garuda
Game: FFXI
user: Antipika
Posts: 1339
By Garuda.Antipika 2009-11-21 20:21:25
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Nobody can figure it out on first try. Basically the way to proceed with spellcast is doing your -own- XML and proceeding step-by-step.

At first let spellcast handle very simple actions like :

if [spell] then [swap to this set].
if [stance (idle/resting/...)] then [swap to idle/hmp set)

Then start to create more and more complicated rules and add line to your XML as your BLM evolves.

Everything is very straight forward. Do not forget to also use the debug mode which enable you to instantly see what's wrong etc.
 Sylph.Otsego
Offline
Server: Sylph
Game: FFXI
Posts: 236
By Sylph.Otsego 2009-11-21 20:26:06
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Garuda.Antipika said:
Nobody can figure it out on first try. Basically the way to proceed with spellcast is doing your -own- XML and proceeding step-by-step.
Tried that, cannot figure out the scripting tags to save my life. Either I am extremely stupid, or XML is just over my head. Luckily my brother has a good XML setup for his BLM, we basically run the same setup in windower macros, so I'm just going to swipe his and plug my gear in where it's needed, or I'm going to have him do it so I know what I was doing wrong. The only problem I'm going to have is changing gear out when I upgrade certain pieces, mainly my body and feet (75BLM Wearing AF1 boots is just sickening, and I'm guilty of it). But I already have that issue with the windower macros, having to swap one piece in 7 different scripts when I upgrade. Though, I have to say, it is easily worth the hassle.
 Garuda.Antipika
Offline
Server: Garuda
Game: FFXI
user: Antipika
Posts: 1339
By Garuda.Antipika 2009-11-21 20:28:41
Link | Quote | Reply
 
I don't understand how can scripting tags can be hard to understand.
<anything> whatever </anything>

Basically always the same, just need to avoid common mistake like :

<lear> </rear>

You open left earring, close right earring (happen often when you copy/paste lines here and there) and then the whole XML is *** etc.

Anyway if you have issue with your -own- XML, feel free to send it to me (or just the part you have issues with) and I'll review it.
 Pandemonium.Rathz
Offline
Server: Pandemonium
Game: FFXI
user: Rathz
Posts: 218
By Pandemonium.Rathz 2009-11-22 01:19:15
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Alright. So I tried putting input into my script. It looks like this now

input /ma "Stoneskin" <me>
input /wait 7
input /ma "Blink" <me>
input /wait 7
input /ma "Haste" <me>
input /wait 5
input /ma "Refresh" <me>
input /wait 5
input /ma "Phalanx" <me>
input /wait 7
input /ma "Ice Spikes" <me>

(Testing stuff ftw)

I uh "activate" it by doing //exec RDM/Buff.txt, but only Stoneskin casts
 Siren.Enternius
Offline
Server: Siren
Game: FFXI
user: Enternius
Posts: 10387
By Siren.Enternius 2009-11-22 01:21:14
Link | Quote | Reply
 
You have to fix it. Should be
Pandemonium.Rathz said:

input /ma "Stoneskin" <me>;
wait 7;
input /ma "Blink" <me>;
wait 7;
input /ma "Haste" <me>;
wait 5;
input /ma "Refresh" <me>;
wait 5;
input /ma "Phalanx" <me>;
wait 7;
input /ma "Ice Spikes" <me>
[+]
 Fenrir.Nightfyre
Offline
Server: Fenrir
Game: FFXI
user: Nightfyre
Posts: 11680
By Fenrir.Nightfyre 2009-11-22 01:23:18
Link | Quote | Reply
 
You should be using wait # instead of input /wait # and your times may be a tad too short. Try adding another second or so if you still have problems.

Also, rtfm
 Bahamut.Bojack
Offline
Server: Bahamut
Game: FFXI
user: Bojack316
Posts: 2076
By Bahamut.Bojack 2009-11-22 01:23:58
Link | Quote | Reply
 
If the word wait still doesn't work try pause. Not saying it won't lol, I just use pause, didn't know wait worked in scripts.
 Pandemonium.Rathz
Offline
Server: Pandemonium
Game: FFXI
user: Rathz
Posts: 218
By Pandemonium.Rathz 2009-11-22 01:37:41
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Fenrir.Nightfyre said:
You should be using wait # instead of input /wait # and your times may be a tad too short. Try adding another second or so if you still have problems. Also, rtfm

Ah, ty. Other people have mentioned rtfm yet they didn't explain what in the world it was.


Edit: Thank you, both of you. Got them to work now
 Fenrir.Nightfyre
Offline
Server: Fenrir
Game: FFXI
user: Nightfyre
Posts: 11680
By Fenrir.Nightfyre 2009-11-22 01:52:37
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Glad I could help.

The Windower website has documentation and guides coming out its virtual ***, so unless you're dealing with extensive Spellcast scripts you can generally find what you need after a couple minutes tops searching the website. Spellcast... all I'm gonna say is, they have their own forum section specifically reserved for Spellcast and BG has a near 20-page thread on it that sees daily activity. ***'s complex :\
 Kujata.Maidak
Offline
Server: Kujata
Game: FFXI
user: Maidak
Posts: 114
By Kujata.Maidak 2009-11-22 02:14:43
Link | Quote | Reply
 
i would just like to say i think i overdosed on focalin
 Carbuncle.Kyhira
Offline
Server: Carbuncle
Game: FFXI
user: zanno
Posts: 128
By Carbuncle.Kyhira 2009-11-22 04:45:44
Link | Quote | Reply
 
I need to re download windower, but their website havent worked in awhile now. anyone know where else i can get it?
 Seraph.Gael
Offline
Server: Seraph
Game: FFXI
user: Gael
Posts: 41
By Seraph.Gael 2009-11-22 07:01:56
Link | Quote | Reply
 
the website works perfectly, it was just down 3-4 jours after update but it's over :

http://www.windower.net/


Direct link to download windower : http://windower.net/Windower-3.41.exe
 Carbuncle.Kyhira
Offline
Server: Carbuncle
Game: FFXI
user: zanno
Posts: 128
By Carbuncle.Kyhira 2009-11-22 10:06:25
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Seraph.Gael said:
the website works perfectly, it was just down 3-4 jours after update but it's over :

http://www.windower.net/


Direct link to download windower : http://windower.net/Windower-3.41.exe

thanks.

this site http://www.windower.net/ hasnt worked at all for me for some time now, the direct link to download worked though, thanks alot ^^
Log in to post.