Forum » Everything Else » Tech Support » Spec check for new laptop
Spec check for new laptop
 Bahamut.Ryousuke
Server: Bahamut
Game: FFXI
user: Ryousuke
By Bahamut.Ryousuke 2009-09-17 05:34:29
Link | Quote | Reply

I'm a bit of an amateur at this technical stuff so I would appreicate any help/advice I recieve. Thanks in advance.

I'm getting a new laptop (taking recommendations, but nothing too expensive though please) and is looking at the Compaq CQ60-420SA Laptop (branch of HP?)

I'm comparing this with the SE FFXI system requirements and recommendations

The Compaq has an AMD Athlon X2 Dual Core Processor and a NVIDIA GEFORCE 8200M graphics card. (More advice on the graphics card please, I've had trouble with them in the past so I would appreicate any information on the best performance in FFXI with which etcetc)
SE recommends a Intel® Pentium®III 800Mhz or faster processor (or recommends Intel® Pentium®4 processor, and has a list of confirmed graphics card from NVIDIA and AMD(ATI), but the list doesn't include the 8200M card the compaq has.
I'm wondering if FFXI would run on the Compaq, run semi-smoothly, and if the Compaq is a decent choice overall.

I'm getting this new laptop because my old one's graphics card died. There were lines and color after the login screen etc, as well as having a problem with the nvlddmkm.sys error a month ago. Any advice as to how to remedy this? or would the best option be to get a new laptop as my warranty is already over? I'm sending it to the HP repair shop regardless, would I need to replace the entire motherboard(?)?
 Shiva.Clowdd
Server: Shiva
By Shiva.Clowdd 2009-09-17 05:54:56
Link | Quote | Reply

if ur sending it to the hp repair shop, id personally invest in a desktop. but thats me. i use a laptop as well but as u should know u cannot upgrade it. once u get it thats it. at least with a desktop u can always upgrade it to fit the new standards.

as for ur error problem, check this page out it might help you some.