The Full FFXI OST?

Language: JP EN DE FR
New Items
2023-11-19
users online
Forum » FFXI » General » The full FFXI OST?
The full FFXI OST?
By Ramyrez 2016-10-14 14:11:07
Link | Quote | Reply

Jetackuu said: »
Nice biased blog that really doesn't even say anything other than "despite evidence to the contrary no it doesn't sound better."

He states there may be the one in 1000 people who can or whatever. So grant him that.

But his point is that in all likelihood, everyone who says they can, in fact, can...is very, very low.

For instance, even being a musician, I can't. I can tell a bad file from a good one, and pick out obvious EQ issues and the like, but for one, my pitch has never been very good and for two, I'm a drummer and using hearing protection is a priority, but not always a guarantee. The damage has been done and can't be undone. Hell, to my ear, I actually prefer analogue recordings and masterings to digital. The extra "noise" makes a recording feel more natural to me.

But I know people who do, in fact, have perfect pitch and have an amazing ear. Gainfully employed composers. People who produce music professionally.

At some point music fidelity -- even where you can observe the difference which, again, is not the case for the vast majority -- isn't about the quality, it's about being able to act superior to someone else.

His wine analogy is really good, actually.

Yes, your wine kept at precisely the right decimal place temperature may unlock the bouquet just a little bit more and open up the flavor that tiny bit extra.

But it's more a matter of being able to enjoy saying you did it over actually being that much better.

tl;dr: don't be a snob. Or, at the very least, acknowledge your desire isn't to enjoy what you're consuming, but to feel superior while consuming it.
 Cerberus.Kylos
Server: Cerberus
Game: FFXI
user: Kylos
By Cerberus.Kylos 2016-10-14 14:13:33
Link | Quote | Reply