FFXI And Data Tethering?

Language: JP EN DE FR
New Items
2023-11-19
users online
Forum » FFXI » General » FFXI and Data Tethering?
FFXI and Data Tethering?
 Shiva.Snojoe
Server: Shiva
Game: FFXI
user: snojoe
By Shiva.Snojoe 2015-01-07 23:28:08
Link | Quote | Reply

So, at my new apartment, I don't have internet yet (and likely won't for a while, yay being broke!)

I've been doing a little bit of reading, and it sounds to me that the game doesn't use up that much data when you're not in heavily populated areas. (Given the game is hardly heavily populated anymore as it is, that statement is probably full irony).

That being said, if I were to use my iPhone's hotspot to connect to the game just to play, assuming I have no background resources running and the like (no YouTube, no torrent downloads, no streaming music, etc.), what kind of data usage would I be looking at? I have a 5GB hotspot data cap per month, and everything I've seen points to the game coming in at well under 10MB/hr thanks in part to the bare minimum requirement of a 56k connection or better. I feel like I'd be more than okay to do that, but given that I use my data from time to time on other things, I wouldn't want this to impact it in such a huge way that my usage for other things would be inhibited.

tl;dr - would I be able to use my wireless hotspot to play the game comfortably without fear of blowing my data cap in the first hour or two of playing?
By mortontony1 2015-01-07 23:51:56
Link | Quote | Reply

IMO internet > $500 phone, I didn't have a cell for ~3 years and it was great. Unless you NEED it for work I'd say ditch it. Otherwise, my only concern would be connection speed and potentially timing out or something. Never met anyone who doesn't complain about their phones speed/fact that it occasionally stops working
 Lakshmi.Buukki
Server: Lakshmi
By Lakshmi.Buukki 2015-01-15 16:03:12
Link | Quote | Reply