users online
Forum » FFXI » Jobs » Scholar » New Scholar
New Scholar
 Carbuncle.Darktrance
Server: Carbuncle
Game: FFXI
By Carbuncle.Darktrance 2013-01-16 09:19:08
Link | Quote | Reply

Looking for an armor set to use, about to start unlocking AF, but looks to be a 5 day chore.

At a glance, it looks like AF is about as good as it'll get till Abyssean +1's,

How does Teal Saio compare? Is 12 macc, +7 mattk and Fast Cast gonna come close to gonna touch the +15 skill bonuses AF will bring with body/legs

Or the random modifications from the Literae Attire?

I'm a bit new to mage-ing... but I'm probably approaching the limits of use that Seer's will give me :P.

~DT
 Shiva.Kuraneko
Server: Shiva
user: Kuraneko
By Shiva.Kuraneko 2013-01-16 09:51:35
Link | Quote | Reply

Stickied SCH guide

Pointedly, this post in the guide is a good starting point..Starting Out

I'd suggest reading through that, but in general...if stigma doesn't bother you you can get away with Teal armor with your friends or doing abyssea/dynamis content. SCH is one of those jobs that requires a massive ton of gear honestly. You'll want most of the AF/Relic/Empy armor for it, various skill gear, nuke gear, Sea obis, cure sets, stun acc. & recast sets, fast cast, ect...

Really, wear what you need to to level it to 99 in abyssea then I'd just use your COR or DRK if they're well geared already to get the gear to outfit your SCH. AF/Relic/Empy+1 and some general mage items for neck/rings/ears/waist (most to all of these can be purchased on AH) would be a minimum I'd think to use SCH effectively for general content (not high end, endgame).
 Carbuncle.Darktrance
By Carbuncle.Darktrance 2013-01-16 09:59:15
Link | Quote | Reply

Shiva.Kuraneko said: »
Stickied SCH guide

Pointedly, this post in the guide is a good starting point..Starting Out