FFXI & Intel HD 4000

Language: JP EN DE FR
New Items
2014-08-12
748 users online
Forum » Everything Else » Tech Support » FFXI & Intel HD 4000
FFXI & Intel HD 4000
 Fenrir.Sharne
Offline
Server: Fenrir
Game: FFXI
user: Sharis
Posts: 1
By Fenrir.Sharne 2012-09-11 07:20:14
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Hi folks,

Going to be doing a lot of traveling in the next few months and wanted to pick up a cheap new laptop to play FFXI on-the-go.

Yes, I know, lolLaptops, and lolIntel HD Graphics, but i'm curious to know if anyone has any experience with Intel HD 4000 Graphics on a laptop (the new Ivy Bridge chips). I've heard they're a significant increase from HD 3000, although still quite crap. But would it be enough to cap out FFXI's FPS?

The only other game i'd play on it would be League of Legends, which isn't exactly taxing anyway and I can turn down the settings if these graphics can't handle the whole thing. No point paying a considerable sum more if i'm not using it for anything else (merely a travel toy) and HD 4000 works fine. I have a beefy desktop that handles all my games, but I naturally can't take that with me.

The laptop I was looking at is: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Acer-15-6-inch-i5-3210-Integrated-Graphics/dp/B008I3E2T6/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1347365954&sr=8-1 (I can get it for around £100 cheaper where I live, but these are the specs)

Thanks for your time.
 Bahamut.Refreshtwo
Offline
Server: Bahamut
Game: FFXI
Posts: 676
By Bahamut.Refreshtwo 2012-09-11 07:35:46
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Yes with them spec's you can cap FFXI fps np

i run mine on old dual core chip and a lot lower card and it runs fine at max
 Cerberus.Sharis
Offline
Server: Cerberus
Game: FFXI
user: Sharis
Posts: 2
By Cerberus.Sharis 2012-09-11 07:42:05
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Perfect. Thank you.

Edit: Posted as wrong char. But thanks regardless.
 Bismarck.Treasurehider
Guildwork Premium
Offline
Server: Bismarck
Game: FFXI
user: Jessee
Posts: 25
By Bismarck.Treasurehider 2012-09-11 08:07:12
Link | Quote | Reply
 
I actually use this card to play FFXI a lot and it works great. Everything is smooth and set at high res.

I can even dual-box without any issues.
 Lakshmi.Trunksc
Offline
Server: Lakshmi
Game: FFXI
user: trunksc
Posts: 74
By Lakshmi.Trunksc 2012-09-11 08:45:36
Link | Quote | Reply
 
I play on a sandy bridge, it's not even a 2000. The computer sees it as 'Intel HD Graphics'. Works fine. They seem to be a huge improvement over intel's previous chips.
necroskull Necro Bump Detected! [39 days between previous and next post]
 Siren.Balias
Offline
Server: Siren
Game: FFXI
user: Balias
Posts: 62
By Siren.Balias 2012-10-19 21:37:18
Link | Quote | Reply
 
I recently built a system on an Asus Maximus V Gene motherboard with i7 3770K cpu, 16GB Corsair Dominator Platinum sdram, Samsung 830 256 & 512 GB SSD's and a GTX 690 video card. Final Fantasy XI runs great but crashes a lot at the most unwanted moments. This forces me play on my Sandy Bridge laptop to avoid the crashes. Haven't seen anyone else with these issues or found anything on google.
 Ragnarok.Weeks
Offline
Server: Ragnarok
Game: FFXI
user: weeks
Posts: 34
By Ragnarok.Weeks 2012-10-19 21:47:45
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Doubt anyone is still reading this, but for anyone in the future: I built this computer with an i7-3770S, which features HD4000 graphics and is Intel's best CPU at 65W TDP. FFXI experiences significant slowdown with avatars onscreen, as low as 21 FPS. It's still playable, but it's pretty disappointing and I wouldn't recommend anyone buy a computer without discrete graphics for FFXI.
Offline
Posts: 2935
By eagleeyes 2012-10-19 21:52:26
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Ragnarok.Weeks said: »
Doubt anyone is still reading this, but for anyone in the future: I built this computer with an i7-3770S, which features HD4000 graphics and is Intel's best CPU at 65W TDP. FFXI experiences significant slowdown with avatars onscreen, as low as 21 FPS. It's still playable, but it's pretty disappointing and I wouldn't recommend anyone buy a computer without discrete graphics for FFXI.
The IGP itself isn't that bad really, Intel's graphics driver just suck and not well optimized(if at all) for DX8.


Intel 4000 running Crysis 2:
Log in to post.