How Do I Play FFXI In A Window?

Language: JP EN DE FR
New Items
2014-11-10
528 users online
Forum » FFXI » General » How do I play FFXI in a window?
How do I play FFXI in a window?
 Cerberus.Jrizzle
Offline
Server: Cerberus
Game: FFXI
user: Jrizzle
Posts: 4
By Cerberus.Jrizzle 2011-05-28 09:59:50
Link | Quote | Reply
 
So my xbox broke and I switched to pc because I didn't want to buy another one. So I've been playing for about a month and a half now on pc and FFXI has been in fullscreen mode and it sucks because i always used to just look stuff up on my pc while i was playing on my xbox and now i can't >.<. So I know some people do play in windows mode how do you do that?
 Bismarck.Nevill
Offline
Server: Bismarck
Game: FFXI
user: Nevill
Posts: 2418
By Bismarck.Nevill 2011-05-28 10:04:43
Link | Quote | Reply
 
This
 Leviathan.Angelskiss
Offline
Server: Leviathan
Game: FFXI
Posts: 7177
By Leviathan.Angelskiss 2011-05-28 10:15:13
Link | Quote | Reply
 
... lol Neville, your link is broken?

@ OP

You can either play in windowed mode, which would be the official SE Playonline windowed mode. To get there go to your start menu, Playonline, Final Fantasy, Final fantasy config. Click start in windowed mode. =)


Or, you can use the program windower, found here.
Windower
 Shiva.Xellith
Offline
Server: Shiva
Game: FFXI
user: Xellith
Posts: 916
By Shiva.Xellith 2011-05-28 11:14:35
Link | Quote | Reply
 
I suggest the unofficial version over the official one... the official one is gimpy.
[+]
 Bismarck.Misao
Offline
Server: Bismarck
Game: FFXI
user: misacat
Posts: 15943
By Bismarck.Misao 2011-05-28 11:21:02
Link | Quote | Reply
 
under FFXI config menu (game and POL must be off) look ofr the option for windowed mode.
 Leviathan.Tohihroyu
Offline
Server: Leviathan
Game: FFXI
Posts: 346
By Leviathan.Tohihroyu 2011-05-28 20:00:16
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Yes, unless you fix the screen res though the config menu it will look pretty craptatic. You don't need windower to have "HQ" windowed mode.

Click the screen size tab & pick the resolution your computer is, can also go into the Textures tab, also Effects tab too.

*awaits inc. vicious attacks of "Y U NO USE WINDOWER?! STOP BEING GIMP!!! USE IT ITS THE ONLI REAL WAY TO PLAY"* How about no?
[+]
Offline
Posts: 7513
By Eugene 2011-05-28 20:02:52
Link | Quote | Reply
 
some people like hindering themselves, /shrug
[+]
 Phoenix.Kirana
Offline
Server: Phoenix
Game: FFXI
Posts: 2025
By Phoenix.Kirana 2011-05-28 20:15:04
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Windower will give you some extra information on your HUD (recast timers, status timers, Party members' TP) as well as the ability to use scripts (essentially unlimited macro space) or spellcast to make your life much less of a hassle. Other plugins are also availble to download and use at your discretion.

The windowed mode supplied in config just puts the game into a window.
 Cerberus.Jrizzle
Offline
Server: Cerberus
Game: FFXI
user: Jrizzle
Posts: 4
By Cerberus.Jrizzle 2011-05-28 20:32:38
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Alright thanks everyone i got it ;)
 Cerberus.Kadia
Offline
Server: Cerberus
Game: FFXI
user: kadia112
Posts: 98
By Cerberus.Kadia 2011-05-28 20:39:39
Link | Quote | Reply
 
i just switched to a pc version of XI and i got the unofficial windower. how exactly do i use the unlimited macro space. ingame macros are gimp :/
 Leviathan.Tohihroyu
Offline
Server: Leviathan
Game: FFXI
Posts: 346
By Leviathan.Tohihroyu 2011-05-28 22:12:18
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Its not a hindrance, its called not being lazy.

Didn't know attacking a Bee in North Gustaberg without it would make this game ever so difficult, golly! some must wonder how I'm still here after playing ffxi in hard mode for 3 years!
[+]
Offline
Posts: 30584
By Artemicion 2011-05-28 22:14:49
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Leviathan.Tohihroyu said:
Its not a hindrance, its called not being lazy.

Didn't know attacking a Bee in North Gustaberg without it would make this game ever so difficult, golly! some must wonder how I'm still here after playing ffxi in hard mode for 3 years!

Implying FFXI is hard.
[+]
 Cerberus.Irohuro
Offline
Server: Cerberus
Game: FFXI
user: Irohuro
Posts: 6583
By Cerberus.Irohuro 2011-05-28 22:16:13
Link | Quote | Reply
 
yea the only way you should play is by hitting 3 macros for a gear swap yo.
[+]
 Phoenix.Kirana
Offline
Server: Phoenix
Game: FFXI
Posts: 2025
By Phoenix.Kirana 2011-05-28 22:28:00
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Cerberus.Kadia said:
i just switched to a pc version of XI and i got the unofficial windower. how exactly do i use the unlimited macro space. ingame macros are gimp :/

In your windower folder should be a folder named "Scripts" (if not, create it). Inside the scripts folder, create a text file and name it whatever you wish. Using notepad or whatever text editing software you wish, type up your macros into the text file. You will have type the word "input" before each line and put a ";" (semicolon) at the end of each line.

example gear swap macro script:

input /equip head "Aias bonnet";
input /equip neck "Soil Gorget";
input /equip ear1 "Raider's earring";
input /equip ear2 "Brutal earring";
input /equip body "Loki's Kaftan";
input /equip hands "Raider's armlets +2";
input /equip ring1 "Epona's ring";
input /equip ring2 "Rajas ring";
input /equip back "Atheling mantle";
input /equip waist "Snow belt";
input /equip legs "Hecatomb subligar";
input /equip feet "Hecatomb leggings +1";

input /ja "Sneak attack" <me>;

wait 1.2; input /ws "Rudra's Storm" <t>;

In game:
in your macros, or in chat window, type "/console exec filename.txt" to execute the scirpt.
 Asura.Daleterrence
Offline
Server: Asura
Game: FFXI
user: Dalight
Posts: 5022
By Asura.Daleterrence 2011-05-28 22:46:49
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Leviathan.Tohihroyu said:
Yes, unless you fix the screen res though the config menu it will look pretty craptatic. You don't need windower to have "HQ" windowed mode.

Click the screen size tab & pick the resolution your computer is, can also go into the Textures tab, also Effects tab too.

*awaits inc. vicious attacks of "Y U NO USE WINDOWER?! STOP BEING GIMP!!! USE IT ITS THE ONLI REAL WAY TO PLAY"* How about no?

Okay, nobody provoked this... Hell nobody even initiated a "vicious attack" on you after. YET, you post this.

Leviathan.Tohihroyu said:
Didn't know attacking a Bee in North Gustaberg without it would make this game ever so difficult, golly! some must wonder how I'm still here after playing ffxi in hard mode for 3 years!

You just want somebody to argue about this with you. This thread is not about "SE Windowed Mode vs Windower." because if it was, it'd be locked. Play how you want to play, nobody cares how you play, each to their own, etc etc etc.

In short, take your drama and kindly get the *** off my browser, you are offending my eyes and slicing another piece off the tiny fruitcake that is my hope in my fellow man.

P.S: How is that for a "vicious attack"?

Some people I swear... /relurk
[+]
 Carbuncle.Sevourn
Offline
Server: Carbuncle
Game: FFXI
user: Sevourn
Posts: 9481
By Carbuncle.Sevourn 2011-05-28 22:52:20
Link | Quote | Reply
 
you need windower, otherwise you won't be able to run bots, which pretty much fix ffxi and allow you to play it the way it was meant to be played

feel free to pm me for some free ones, btw

<3 you tohi, keep raging please
[+]
 Leviathan.Angelskiss
Offline
Server: Leviathan
Game: FFXI
Posts: 7177
By Leviathan.Angelskiss 2011-05-28 23:09:38
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Cerberus.Jrizzle said:
Alright thanks everyone i got it ;)
You are welcome~
Offline
Posts: 35
By Ultimarevan 2011-05-30 08:44:52
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Shiva.Xellith said:
I suggest the unofficial version over the official one... the official one is gimpy.


Iv never really had any problems with the official windowed mode.

It will drop my connection if i open a web browser tho. Apart from that the game seems to run fine
[+]
 Fenrir.Framerate
VIP
Offline
Server: Fenrir
Game: FFXI
user: framerate
Posts: 57
By Fenrir.Framerate 2011-05-31 11:12:36
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Leviathan.Tohihroyu said:
Its not a hindrance, its called not being lazy.

Didn't know attacking a Bee in North Gustaberg without it would make this game ever so difficult, golly! some must wonder how I'm still here after playing ffxi in hard mode for 3 years!

You can walk 10 miles to work every day or you can drive to make it easier on yourself.

It all depends on how you look at the situation.
[+]
 Bismarck.Josiahfk
Offline
Server: Bismarck
Game: FFXI
user: Josiahkf
Posts: 10670
By Bismarck.Josiahfk 2011-05-31 11:29:10
Link | Quote | Reply
 
The only features I rely on 100% with windower are being able to run two instances on one computer and the chat log so I don't miss anything that flies by.

Yeah we could screenshot in game every few seconds to log all data given and yeah we could buy 2 computers to run 2 copies of the game but I don't consider it lazy not to.

We don't all use windower to gain an unfair advantage over the other gamers. SE has to be against windower because we're capable of gaining that advantage.

inb4 "wow thats one special sentence, italic and bold"
 Fenrir.Framerate
VIP
Offline
Server: Fenrir
Game: FFXI
user: framerate
Posts: 57
By Fenrir.Framerate 2011-05-31 11:48:04
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Bismarck.Josiahfk said:
SE has to be against windower

Honestly, I'm not even convinced they are against Windower in the least. In fact, in my talks with SE they seemed almost supportive...

I think it's more of the kind of thing that they can't openly support it, but that doesn't mean they're against it, either.
 Bismarck.Josiahfk
Offline
Server: Bismarck
Game: FFXI
user: Josiahkf
Posts: 10670
By Bismarck.Josiahfk 2011-05-31 11:52:07
Link | Quote | Reply
 
I meant "officially has to be" as in banning people for using it yeah.

I don't think they could get away with officially allowing it unbanned when discovered as it would put the game balance solely on trusting the gamers not to use the "unfair to others" parts of windower
Log in to post.