Ps3 Controller On Pc Ff14

Language: JP EN DE FR
New Items
2014-08-12
496 users online
Forum » FFXIV » General » ps3 controller on pc ff14
ps3 controller on pc ff14
 Leviathan.Xxor
Offline
Server: Leviathan
Game: FFXI
user: xxor
Posts: 30
By Leviathan.Xxor 2010-09-23 00:07:02
Link | Quote | Reply
 
is there anyway to make ps3 controller work on ff14 if so please explain...
 Ifrit.Darkanaseur
Offline
Server: Ifrit
Game: FFXI
Posts: 2328
By Ifrit.Darkanaseur 2010-09-23 00:32:23
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Run FFXIV Config and select gamepads. Should enable you to select what button does what function etc. Set it up how you like, click save then start XIV.
 Valefor.Slipispsycho
Offline
Server: Valefor
Game: FFXI
Posts: 14155
By Valefor.Slipispsycho 2010-09-23 00:33:12
Link | Quote | Reply
 
http://www.motioninjoy.com/
 Fenrir.Rinnsi
Offline
Server: Fenrir
Game: FFXI
user: Rinnsi
Posts: 763
By Fenrir.Rinnsi 2010-09-23 00:34:36
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Valefor.Slipispsycho said:
http://www.motioninjoy.com/
i spent like2 hours tryign to get that damn thing to work, with no avail
 Valefor.Slipispsycho
Offline
Server: Valefor
Game: FFXI
Posts: 14155
By Valefor.Slipispsycho 2010-09-23 00:37:15
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Fenrir.Rinnsi said:
Valefor.Slipispsycho said:
http://www.motioninjoy.com/
i spent like2 hours tryign to get that damn thing to work, with no avail
It's a real pain int he *** and it's very sensitive/easy to throw out/make it stop working.

Don't get the latest version though, because that one doesn't work..

I'm assuming you spent 2 hrs trying to get it to work because you use Windows 7..

It was a big enough pain in the *** to get to run on Vista, Windows 7 is about 7x worse.
 Quetzalcoatl.Giazz
Offline
Server: Quetzalcoatl
Game: FFXI
user: Gias
Posts: 1308
By Quetzalcoatl.Giazz 2010-09-23 00:45:11
Link | Quote | Reply
 
There are some pretty good PC controllers out there too though. (although I guess if you don't have one already, you may be trying to save yourself money by using your PS3 controller...)

I personally use:

This one on my PC, and it works great for me.
 Kujata.Akeda
Offline
Server: Kujata
Game: FFXI
user: Akeda
Posts: 1698
By Kujata.Akeda 2010-09-23 01:18:15
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Valefor.Slipispsycho said:
Fenrir.Rinnsi said:
Valefor.Slipispsycho said:
http://www.motioninjoy.com/
i spent like2 hours tryign to get that damn thing to work, with no avail
It's a real pain int he *** and it's very sensitive/easy to throw out/make it stop working.

Don't get the latest version though, because that one doesn't work..

I'm assuming you spent 2 hrs trying to get it to work because you use Windows 7..

It was a big enough pain in the *** to get to run on Vista, Windows 7 is about 7x worse.


Even more so if you have Win 7 x64, I know I had a hell of a time trying to get it to work for 11.
 Fenrir.Rinnsi
Offline
Server: Fenrir
Game: FFXI
user: Rinnsi
Posts: 763
By Fenrir.Rinnsi 2010-09-23 02:08:23
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Kujata.Akeda said:
Valefor.Slipispsycho said:
Fenrir.Rinnsi said:
Valefor.Slipispsycho said:
http://www.motioninjoy.com/
i spent like2 hours tryign to get that damn thing to work, with no avail
It's a real pain int he *** and it's very sensitive/easy to throw out/make it stop working.

Don't get the latest version though, because that one doesn't work..

I'm assuming you spent 2 hrs trying to get it to work because you use Windows 7..

It was a big enough pain in the *** to get to run on Vista, Windows 7 is about 7x worse.


Even more so if you have Win 7 x64, I know I had a hell of a time trying to get it to work for 11.

yup windows 7 64bit :P
 Leviathan.Xxor
Offline
Server: Leviathan
Game: FFXI
user: xxor
Posts: 30
By Leviathan.Xxor 2010-09-23 06:30:43
Link | Quote | Reply
 
sigh why do they make things so hard... i have window7 also 32 bit.
 Cerberus.Kalyna
Offline
Server: Cerberus
Game: FFXI
Posts: 21615
By Cerberus.Kalyna 2010-09-23 06:34:05
Link | Quote | Reply
 
http://www.ebgames.com/Catalog/ProductDetails.aspx?product_id=69393
this is what I use and it's a plug-and-play on PC (works on Win 7)

What OS are you using? I know of a way to make PS3 controller work for Win XP and Vista but i couldn't do it for Win 7
 Kujata.Akeda
Offline
Server: Kujata
Game: FFXI
user: Akeda
Posts: 1698
By Kujata.Akeda 2010-09-23 09:25:27
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Just got it to work for me and here is what I did.

Download the 3.0 drivers
http://www.motioninjoy.com/download

Install the program

Plug in the PS3 controller and let windows install the PS3 drivers if it hasn't already

Start Menu > Program Files > MotionInJoy

Right Click 'Install USB Drivers' and Run As Administrator

It will give some error like 'OMFG Unsigned drivers!!!' Just click 'Install Anyways'. On x64 I think you need to be in safe mode to do it.

When it's done a notepad file should appear and say
SUCCESS: installed package C:\Program Files\MotioninJoy\ds3\drivers\MijUfilt.inf.

Load the DS3Tool program

I use the 3rd option 'Analog Joystick 2'

Run the FFXIV Config program and click Configure Gameplay

 Bismarck.Setsunaa
Offline
Server: Bismarck
Game: FFXI
user: lvicious
Posts: 42
By Bismarck.Setsunaa 2010-09-23 09:57:57
Link | Quote | Reply
 
no you don't have to be in safe mode to do it on x64 win 7.. you can but not necessary.

first.. yes the latest version does work on win7 and on ff14.

read their forums. they reply fast and the mods/admins are very helpful and nice but search the forum for answers first cause they are there.

Their forums and wiki are very helpful but here is the wiki link that explains how to install everything and about the x64 bit driver process that doesn't involve safe mode:

http://www.motioninjoy.com/wiki/en/install

you'll see the 64-bit and disabling Driver Signature Enforcement link.

Also use the version 5 link info for version 6.. they haven't posted v6 info.. probably cause it's same thing as ver.5.

their site is http://www.motioninjoy.com/

I was able to get my ps3 controller to work with rumble just fine on ff14 win7 x64 but now I use a plain jane Logitech controller. no rumble but I don't have to mess with motionjoy and all that other bs. I just plug it in, use the ffxiv config to set it up and works great.

logitech does have rumble cheap controllers that might work.. haven't tested 'em.
[+]
 Gilgamesh.Tweeek
Offline
Server: Gilgamesh
Game: FFXI
user: Tweeek
Posts: 2169
By Gilgamesh.Tweeek 2010-09-23 16:14:41
Link | Quote | Reply
 
i could not get to work on my laptop for some reason tried maybe 10 times or so. works fine on my PC though






The files required:
Motioninjoy x64 Driver

Motioninjoy Vibration Driver

NGO Unsigned Driver Override Program
 Quetzalcoatl.Volkom
Offline
Server: Quetzalcoatl
Game: FFXI
user: volkom
Posts: 1294
By Quetzalcoatl.Volkom 2010-09-23 16:18:34
Link | Quote | Reply
 
if you have a pc wireless adapter. the xbox 360 controller also works :3
Log in to post.